Tim

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2019 - 11/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    To other travelers: I am in Puglia until early December and I am looking to meet people who like to explore and have an interest in photography! I’m traveling solo and looking for another workaway host or travel opportunity after 25/11.

    Hosts: Hello! My name is Tim and I am a traveler always seeking new experiences and to learn new things. I live in Ketchikan, Alaska and have worked in tourism seasonally for five years. In Alaska we have an growing cruise ship tourism industry and I have worked for years as a lead kayak/bicycle/hiking guide, business operator, office manager, maintenance person, and now manage an electric bike tour in the summer. I am very good at working with people and making them feel comfortable, talking to strangers, customer service, and just getting along. I have lived and traveled in many places around the United States as well as a long list of other countries around the world, mostly in Europe and Asia. I am an extremely flexible, enthusiastic and positive personality to bring to you!
    Experience:
    I have a background in photography and do some commercial work, but much of it as just a hobby with my travels. I work as a professional videographer (cameraman) in Ketchikan during the winter, so I am great with cameras and the technical side of things. I own some basic photography equipment but own no video equipment. I consider myself a good writer and designer too and work on a seasonal worker's magazine publication.
    I have experience in the maritime world on boats of different types including sailboats, fishing boats, small skiffs, commercial fishing vessels, along with general deckhand knowledge - a necessity when living in southeast Alaska. Much of this experience is in rough, cold, and rainy conditions.
    I have worked on a few farms in the past with animals like alpacas, horses, chickens, and goats. I have also worked on a few fruit farms in Australia with limes and avocados picking fruit but also operating tractors, sprayers, fertilizers, and other heavy machinery. I am mechanically inclined and can learn things fast - not afraid to get my hands dirty!
    Personal:
    I absolutely love nature and being outside! I enjoy hiking, camping, fishing, foraging for wild foods, wildlife viewing, sailing, beach combing, multi-day adventures, skiing, biking, and pretty much any outdoor activity. I believe in having the right gear and being prepared for anything so I do not let weather conditions stop me from getting outside.
    I love to learn new things and meet new people and appreciate the opportunities from living with a great host and sharing my skills, knowledge, and stories. I did my first few Workaways in 2012 and another some years later and each one has taught me so much about myself and given me valuable new skills and stories I continue to share! A big part of Workaway for me is gaining new skills and meeting new friends whom I can take something from their culture home with me.
    I have learned the importance of choosing a compatible host and ensuring all work and living expectations are very clearly communicated in the beginning. I hope to find someone that is interested in the company and community of having Workawayers around and is inclusive. I am a very hard and flexible worker and I am willing to work hard for you and offer my many skills!
    Another thing to mention! - I am in the process of obtaining Italian dual citizenship through my great grandfather who came to America a century ago. I am exploring the prospects of living and working in the EU seasonally and would really like to meet people who can give me insight to the tourism, business, employment, and property opportunities out there. I'm also very interested in meeting people in expat communities and networking while traveling.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    General maintenance, hands-on projects, farm work, assisting with building/renovation, caring for animals, administrative/clerical/office/organizational work, professional photography, computers and technical aptitude, customer service and strong people-skills, willingness to try anything. Maritime and deckhand experience.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), Basic German

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback