Thomas

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    I am a 23 year old Welsh graduate having studied at LSE in London for 4 years. After such time in this environment, I have realised that my priority is to explore the world as much as possible and to try many different types of work in many different places in order to learn about other cultures as well as about myself. I am extremely open to various types of work, but am especially keen to work outdoors and/or with animals.

    I am fluent in both Welsh and English, and have a basic understanding of French, so I plan to develop at the very least basic conversational skills in new languages wherever I end up, however this is not a skill that comes naturally to me. I want to show respect to my new surroundings however and am keen to work on this.

    I can be a very sociable and outgoing person, but I also need a degree of alone time throughout any given week and enjoy spending this time listening to music, running, and reading. I do however want to use this experience as a way to increase my comfort in more social situations by putting myself out of my comfort zone.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I am very comfortable using technology and with general house maintenance having been living independently for many years. I have a practical mindset and enjoy problem solving in a day-to-day context.

    I have grown up with many pets and have always made an effort to befriend and care for animals, and am very keen to further my knowledge and understanding of how best to look after them, having volunteered in this field in the past. In particular, I adore cats and love spending time with them especially.

    I am a fast learner, and would be very keen to pick up skills in gardening and building if the opportunity arose, despite having little experience on this front. I also have basic cooking skills having been providing for myself for many years however I do not consider myself a notable talent in this field!

    I have worked recently in hospitality and administration (reception), and previously as a mystery shopper for a number of years. In this time I have developed into an independent worker and can carry out instructions effectively as well as adapt to changing circumstances where necessary. I also volunteered at a care home for a number of months, which further allowed me to develop a sense of understanding when it comes to working with people.

  • Languages spoken

    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    My biggest passion in life is music. I played the saxophone for many years growing up and spent a lot of my teenage years making electronic music at home. I have fallen off on both of these fronts since attending university and working (life gets in the way) however in this time I have focused more on listening to as much music as possible in my free time. I will listen to many new albums every week and have an ever expanding record collection which will stay with me for life. Attending music festivals is probably my favourite thing to do so I would be excited to integrate this into my movements if possible. I also love watching films and will always give 100% focus to what I am watching. I am technologically savvy however I hold a great dislike to how much time people are spending on their phones in my society and am looking to spend time in environments where this is not so common.

    I am a big sports fan, and hope that I am able to keep up with everything whilst I am travelling. I have been an avid follower of Formula 1 since I was young, and I am very committed to following the season as it runs March-November. I am also a big fan of Liverpool FC and will hope to watch as many games as I can, as for the Welsh national teams in both rugby and football. I love playing football and tennis when the opportunity arises, but my main method of exercise is running. Wherever I may be, it will be very important to me to have the opportunity to run often, unless I am completing very physically demanding work on a daily basis.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback