Thern & Karina

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/08/2020 - 30/09/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling


    Farm-stay, sustainability, permaculture, nature, gardening, community

  • Description

    We are a young-at-heart, semi retired couple travelling around Australia and have been on the road since August 2020. We emigrated from South Africa 5 years ago and have just got our Australian citizenship. Karina manages the finances of a business online (part time) while travelling, and I do the driving and cooking. This arrangement gives us the freedom to travel and satisfy our desire to be close to nature, discover new places and make new friends. Karina loves people, flowers, crafting and creating, and is passionate about teaching what she knows to others. I love all things nature and when we settle down we want to live a sustainable lifestyle, applying permaculture principles in a rural setting. On the road I miss having a garden and a workbench, so Workaway gives me an opportunity to get my hands dirty. We have 2 grown sons, Luke (who is studying in Amsterdam) and Nathan (who lives in Melbourne).

    I am fit and healthy for my age and love accomplishing things. As much fun as travelling is I miss the feeling of being productive. I am diligent, cooperative, level headed, adaptable and a quick learner. Karina is lots of fun, compassionate, kind and loving.

    We live in our beloved camper and can continue to do so depending on the circumstances.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Thern
    I consider myself a jack of all trades but a master of none. I have a Construction Management degree and have worked as a consulting project manager on large commercial building projects for many years (I looked very different about a year ago when I left the corporate world behind). This role is management intensive and deals with the business of cost, time and quality and involves coordinating the client, consultants contractor and all stakeholders throughout the building process. I am not a builder and although I do not have hands on site experience I do have a very practical approach to life and can add value in the following areas:
    Light handyman work - can use tools and have lots of common sense.
    Woodwork - I grew up helping my Dad in his hobby woodwork workshop.
    Gardening - love the outdoors and have green fingers.
    Cooking - Can help out.
    Management - help with any coordination etc.
    Art - I am a minor artist and paint and sketch.

    Karina
    My strongest skill set is in the administrative and financial areas.
    I also enjoy teaching/training - I graduated as a secondary school Mathematics teacher, and I have several years of corporate training experience. I also home educated our two sons for many years.
    I have several creative skills too, which include arranging flowers, function decor and crafts.
    I really enjoy being creative with baked goods as opposed to cooking, which is not my forte.
    Apart from this, I love animals, and enjoy caring for them (and communicating with them).

    Because Karina works she is available for around 2 hours a day to lend a hand. This arrangement can be flexible with more time one day and less the next. As compensation for the reduced hours we are happy to stay in our camper (just need electricity and water) and provide our own breakfast and lunch and then both join the family for dinner.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    Karina taught our sons to read and write and has a good understanding of English grammar so can teach English if required. She is also a South African qualified secondary school maths teacher.

  • Age

    58 & 58

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Thern is gluten intolerant so does not over indulge

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback