Maria Teresa

From: Chile

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/08/2018 - 31/08/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    743

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    UPDATE! JULY 2019: Even though I have experience as a babysitter, I am not pursuing working in that field anymore. I will be more than happy to participate in educational projects (specially related to music, or teaching spanish and english) that involve working with children, but not babysitting. This is because I want to expand my skills and work with a team ideally. I hope you understand :)

    I am from Chile, raised in a small town called Linares but living in Santiago since 2006. I am very independent and strong but I enjoy getting to know other people (young or old, or in between) and making new friends. I have been traveling for over a year and every day I am amazed with all the wonderful beings that are part of the world, who teach me so much about them and myself. I flow between my introverted and my extroverted self, as all humans, I guess.

    I have been part of two workaways, one babysitting in New Jersey with an amazing family, and another one cleaning and cat-sitting in Queens. Both really good experiences! And currently I am living in Manchester, UK, babysitting and singing my songs, also cleaning houses.

    About me: I sing and write songs, play ukulele and guitar, I am a speech therapist and voice teacher, I love to act, I dance polynesian dances, belly dance and a little bit of lindy hop, I love to meditate and read about buddhism and mindfulness, I am currently shifting my career interest towards charities and foundations (ideally related to music). I just finished a volunteer program in Japan with C-minor foundation, which I think changed my mindset for good, about working with a beautiful team of people and using music for a greater purpose.

    I love to eat and cook (and eat and eat)...I am a vegetarian trying to go vegan (TRYING) which can be difficult from some people, but I respect others and their decisions too...and I love finding vegan or vegetarian alternatives to the dishes that I always liked to eat before :) I also respect different cultures and I understand that traveling makes it difficult to maintain certain styles, and if a family only has one type of food to give me, I will accept it with gratitude.

    What I can offer (my current skills): singing and ukulele lessons, playing music or dancing to entertain, conducting choirs, meditation sessions, hula and Rapa Nui dance lessons, Spanish and English lessons. I can clean and organize places, pet-sit, help with customer service/reception (I am very good!), organize projects (volunteer programs, work teams, children and adult workshops, etc).

    What I would love to practice/learn: to be a barista, bar-tending, waitressing, working in farms (whichever position, just want to learn), knowing how to run/organize a hostel, yoga, new languages (portuguese, french, german).

    Basically I am open to any new experience, everything is learning and I ENJOY LEARNING!! :D

    Please if I forgot to say something, let me know and ask away! (and I will work-away)

    Hugs for you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can sing, play guitar and ukulele, I am a voice teacher (can do singing lessons and vocal training), I can write very well, Help with social media, I am very sociable and can work front desk, also coordinating activities, I speak spanish (native), english and basic italian. I can cook, clean, paint, build, pet-sit, work with elderly or sick people, teach mindfulness...would love to learn to be a barista and bartender, and to work in farms.

  • Languages spoken

    spanish, english, italian

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    chilean, italian

  • What else ...

    I like to learn new skills and I am willing to train in abilities that are needed, I like to do yoga and pilates and to surf (at a basic level). I have participated and am interested in meditation, specially mindfulness.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      lactose intolerant, vegetarian

Photos

Feedback