Tom & Pluggy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 01/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We're Tom and Pluggy, a Welsh/English couple who have just left our jobs in the UK to take a European trip to distract ourselves from Brexit! Tom enjoyed using HelpX/WWOOF so much when he did it five years ago we've decided to do the same sort of thing through Workaway. We're especially interested in learning more about gardening/permaculture. Neither of us have experience in carpenting, construction, or these other in-demand areas but we're hard workers and very happy and enthusiastic to learn new things! We are both TEFL-qualified and have both had experience of teaching/tutoring English to non-native speakers.

    We love the outdoors and hiking in the hills and mountains (it's how we met), we both love cooking and learning new recipes, and we looooooove dogs!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Tom: Five years ago I used HelpX to make my way across France over a few months, staying on a pork farm, dairy farm and then dogsitting for an elderly couple. I did a mixture of things: milking and herding cows; feeding the animals; looking after dogs, cats, geese, pigs; working with customers at catering events and farmers' markets; preparing food for large events; chopping and stacking wood; strimming and other general labour. Five years is a long time and I've been stuck in an office job ever since, but I'm looking forward to getting back to working more with my hands again! I'm also TEFL-qualified, and have been teaching English online in my spare time for the past year. Not bad with computers!

    Pluggy: In 2016 I spent three months volunteering in a rural community in Nicaragua on a variety of projects. I helped to construct eco stoves and eco ovens with very limited tools and materials, so I am used to working with what I have! I also planted a variety of fruit trees and helped to clean up and clear community spaces. I taught English to children and young people in the community (aged 4-25) and ran workshops for adults and children about environmental stewardship and climate change. I am good at baking and love making vegetarian food for everyone!

  • Languages spoken

    Native English, Tom speaks a little French and Pluggy a little Spanish!

  • Age

    25 & 25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pluggy is vegetarian but very happy to cook for herself and for you too! Tom is flexible and loves vegetarian food but will also eat meat.

Photos

Feedback