Tawatha

  • Spain
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Friends (2)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Lofoten, Norway - from Jul 2022 until Sep 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi there! :)

    My name is Tawatha. I'm a self-taught Spanish/Argentinian illustrator specializing in scientific illustration, data visualization #dataviz and science communication #scicomm.

    Some background:

    I'm a volunteer at the Jane Goodall Institute in Spain, where I design chimpanzee related illustrations for educational purposes. I also created and manage an initiative called "Play For Ukraine", where I ask musicians to play their instruments in solidarity with refugees.

    Here is the initiative:
    www.instagram.com/Play_for_ukraine
    or @Play_for_ukraine

    Here is my illustration account:
    www.instagram.com/tawatha_illustration
    or @tawatha_illustration

    I learned English at an early age (13 yo) while growing up in Lebanon.

    I've been living in a caravan for the past year, in a valley located near a national park in Tarragona, Catalunya. The experience made me fall in love with the "U" or "V" shape of valleys that have been slowly crafted by the forces of gravity, water, and ice. I love the biodiversity and beauty that they have to offer.

    I'm currently working on a self-published illustrated book about the fauna and flora of the area I live in.

    I'd like to travel to different valleys within Europe and fill my notebooks with new illustrations of the fauna and flora of the places I visit.

    I'm a digital nomad in the makings. This means I can travel and work as long as there's an internet connection. I also carry with me printed illustrations to leave a trace of my art in my travels.

    I always travel with my carbon footprint in mind. That means I will not be taking any planes (unless necessary), and will mostly travel by bus, train or hitchhiking.

    I'm passionate about nature and landscapes. I'd love to stay in places that spark creativity and wonder.

    ··································································

    I'm organised and methodical with my work and when working for others. I'm always looking for thought-provoking conversations. I look for cultural exchange in the area or country I visit. I'm also a big lover of chess, so hoping to find people to play with!

    I have done Workaways within Spain - organic gardens in Andalucía and Catalunya as well as working for 15 days in the grape harvest in France. The hosts mostly asked for general maintenance, painting exterior/ indoor walls and furniture, cooking, animal care (exotic, farm), weeding, gardening, language exchange, and childcare. I did Aupair for 5 months in Copenhaguen, Denmark and 5 months in Barcelona.

    I will definitely love to hike, have dinner or have long chats with hosts if it's something they're looking for in travellers (I do!).

    If you think I'm a good match for your project don't hesitate in reaching out!

    Hope to meet you soon!

    - Tawatha

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    • Gardening
    • Painting (indoors / outdoors)
    • Previous farming experience (including grape harvest in France)
    • Illustration
    • Photography / Videography
    • Writing / Blog
    • Animal Care
    • Social media / Web
    • Computers / Technology
    • Childcare experience (Aupair)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    Interest in: Astronomy, natural sciences, chess, scientific illustration, ethology, sustainability, organic farming, ornithology, conservation, primatology, philosophy, arts, writing, wild photography, music, violin, systems thinking, technology...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (Flexitarian if neccesary)

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback