Tamara

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/06/2019 - 30/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Firstly, I have uploaded a video of a song my friend and I wrote at the top of the Pinnacle's Hut in New Zealand. We were jammin and enjoyed the nature as our percussion haha hope you enjoy! I kinda expected it to go viral but it hasn't yet for some reason....

    Quotes from previous flatmates:

    "never wears matching socks"
    "regularly cleans the kitchen with a precision and focus not dissimilar to what you might expect from your granny"
    "would recommend solely due to her brownie making skills"

    Just asked my sister what to say for this profile - she reckons I'm groovy and I don't care what people think.

    I have recently graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering, but have been working as an outdoor instructor this year! I took up rock climbing last year while on exchange in Adelaide and fell in love with it, realising I wasn't ready to stay in New Zealand and work in an office just yet.

    I also recently took up surfing and have been doing my best giving it a go in Christchurch (NZ). I love music and play the guitar, and am also learning to play the saxophone and piano at the moment. I love slacklining and have been on a highline a couple of times! (Although I have not yet mastered how to stand up on the highline).

    I'm up for pretty much anything and give 100% to whatever it is that I'm doing :D

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a degree in mechanical engineering so my brain is very mathsy and good at problem solving when needed! My favourite projects in my final year were helping to design an aid device for a para table tennis player, and analysing the vibrations on a tennis racket stringbed.

    I have been working as an adventure education instructor for the last few months though, which has involved many activities including taking high school students on school camp to go rock climbing, caving and hiking. It has involved running days at the nearby high ropes course, as well as helping to run and assess first aid courses.

    I love working with people all day every day, and would come home from a week of camp buzzing, and fizzing for the next one! One of my favourite parts of camp was the talent shows we hosted. I got to be the MC one night and felt totally in my element, making up random challenges for the contestants and audience between acts as we went :D

    I am very organised and hard working, and full of energy all the time!

    In the past I have been involved in tutoring science and maths, coaching hockey and basketball, working in retail, working at concerts, chopping wood, gardening and more.

    I have current comprehensive first aid, and am an accredited mental health first aider.

  • Languages spoken

    Trying to learn German and Spanish!

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I love learning new things and am regularly taking up new hobbies - I am halfway through a solo skydiving course, I love to bake (have been doing foccacia lately), and I recently took up flax weaving and can make a pretty awesome basket! I am on the learning buzz which means I am just so pumped to learn everything I can about anything.

    I have also started being really conscious about my footprint on this planet, so have adopted a mostly vegan diet. I love this planet and am still trying to work out how to solve the whole climate change thing ahhhh...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I try to be mostly vegan! Save the animals and the planet and my health :D

Photos

Feedback