Sylvia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/06/2019 - 31/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Sylvia.
    I'm a girl from the US, who loves travel that includes people from those places and is hoping for a new adventure!
    I am from New Jersey in the USA. My mother is from the US and my father is German. Some of my earliest travel experiences were related to meeting family members who were very far. I studied Geography and Planning & Public Policy in my undergrad years.
    I have lived in Brooklyn NY for the past four years. I work in the urban planning field (working with GIS, supporting regional natural hazard mitigation, carrying out community outreach, etc) and have just picked up teaching English remotely as well.

    I've traveled a fair amount of places so far and am pretty familiar with couchsurfing as both a way to
    I am in a transitional period in my life as I plan to leave my first real job since college and pursue a graduate education in Berlin Germany. I think this is a special opportunity for me to travel a bit beforehand and have new growth experiences! Maybe with you! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a range of experiences, which maybe more than anything can speak to my ability to learn and adapt.

    I have customer service experience from cashier, sales related positions (fundraising for my university and in selling online advertising space), and in supporting community outreach for FEMA in the US.

    I have volunteered on organic urban gardens before as part of a social justice (with an emphasis on food/environmental justice) alternative spring break while in college.

    I was a grant writer for my university's chapter of Habitat for Humanity, resulting in the award of one grant I applied for on behalf of the group's local project.

    I've volunteered with Brooklyn Animal Action to help socialize cats.

    I have a TEFL certificate, some experience working with children, and am currently working part-time as a remote English teacher.

    I have some knowledge of Geographic Information Systems, am able to read some German, and have a very basic understanding of Python and SQL from one introductory community college course I took in each a year ago.

  • Languages spoken

    I am a native English speaker. I am learning German. I have taken Spanish classes.

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    In regard to hobbies, I enjoy creative writing, writing letters, reading (predominantly female centered fiction with some history or philosophy on occasion), bike riding in cities with ample space, travel, cultural exchange, plant based cooking, dancing (have taken a few classes in the past), befriending cats, etc.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer to eat plant based, but if it's not possible then that's fine.

Photos

Feedback