Sydney

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 31/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi potential hosts! My name is Syd and I am excited to spend my time before university exploring new places, learning new skills and immersing myself in different cultures. It has been my goal to travel and learn more about myself before delving into the hard routine of school.

    Before COVID-19 hit all of us I had planned a month long backpacking trip to Spain with my friend. After that I was planning to stay in Spain and aupair for a host family. Obviously we had to cancel it due to the virus, but I still hope to do both of these things in the future alongside more backpacking trips across Europe. It'll just be postponed, which is disappointing, but still okay!

    Workaway seemed like a great alternative in the meantime for experiencing and travelling things domestically. With workaway I am hoping to learn more about the connection to our land and food, helping in anyway I can with kids as they never fail to put a smile on my face. I don't have any experience with this, but I have been looking into van conversions recently and would love to be taught some skills to have more knowledge about how to do it.

    Some things to know about me are that I love kids, performing arts, fitness, hiking, swimming, and I am at a point in my life where I would love to find some new passions and skills on top of those.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I am a friendly customer service worker as I have worked in many cafés and restaurants. I have babysat for local families and younger relatives over the years. I consider myself to be very well organized. I am a fast learner, great listener and accept critiques with much respect and appreciation.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I come from a performing arts school where I partook in choirs, plays, and stage managed/teched for musicals. Fitness related activities are also things that I enjoy. This includes things such as team sports as I played on a volleyball team in high school (I'm not good but it was very fun). As of recently it includes volunteering and riding at my local spin studio. I am also starting to become a more frequent boulderer and am about to take my first surfing course soon. I love being outdoors in general and would love to explore the local swimming holes and hiking spots if my hosts are interested in that as well!
    I have also recently been volunteering at the Pekiwewin solidarity relief and prayer camp in support of our local houseless community, anti-police violence and harm reduction. It has been a very cool experience for me and the appreciation I have for the organizers, coordinators, volunteers and the whole houseless community is immense.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback