Susan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2016 - 31/07/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1660

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Good day and thank you for checking out my profile! My name is Susan Allen and I am a 22 year old from the United States. I graduated from The University of Georgia with a degree in Psychology. Now, I am taking a break from my studies to learn about the world, other people, and myself. I have traveled to 22 countries. My favorites so far: Uganda, Australia, and Portugal. I am passionate about other people and I always love to try new things, pushing my limits. I enjoy spending time outside, playing sports, or tasting/cooking new, exciting foods! I assure you I will be a great addition to your team!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Experienced traveler--> 25+ countries on four continents

    Bachelor's of Science in Psychology, fluent in English, proficient in Spanish, experienced in hospitality industry, intermediate surfer, hiker, experienced snorkeling, volleyball player, superb interpersonal skills, experienced in customer service and administration, proficient computer skills, skilled at mathematics, great with children, experienced in food service industry, trained bartender, First AID/CPR, athletic, cooking experience, etc.

    I specifically have experience working with at-risk children. I have volunteered in an orphanahe in Cambodia and worked at a community centre in Uganda. I also work with at-risk children in my home country. My area of specialty is working with children with special needs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    4

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    So far I have had five work exchange experiences:
    Nanny in Pamplona
    -two weeks
    -care for two children
    -teach English
    Hostel in Sevilla, Spain
    -one month
    -responsibilities included entertaining guests, planning events, cooking, serving breakfast, leading pubcrawls, etc.
    Surf Camp in Sagres, Portugal
    -two months
    -responsibilities included cleaning, making beds, preparing and serving breakfast, assisting with transportation, giving tours to guests, etc.
    Interational School in Phuket, Thailand
    -assist in the nursery (ages 1-3)
    -teach English
    -substitute for absent teachers
    Hostel in Langkawi, Malaysia
    -help with cleaning
    -check guests in/out
    -socialize with guests

    My experiences so far were wonderful and I can't wait to make more memories! I find that work exchange is a great way for me to travel-- it keeps costs low, allows me to meet new people, and more deeply immerses me into the culture.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback