Sumie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/01/2018 - 01/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1091

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Sumie! I'm a 20 year-old Japanese/American girl from Tokyo currently studying graphic design in Southern California. I spent the majority of my life in Japan where I was born, and have spent some time in California now. I have been meaning to travel to Europe/Asia in the future and thought this website could get me started. I have been exposed to both Japanese and American culture since I was little, and I believe I'd feel right at home at a hostel/farm/environment full of people with diverse backgrounds!
    I have stayed in Spain as my first workaway in 2017, fell in love with it and now I want to start off 2018 with a wonderful experience away from home for at least half a year. I am currently working on my Spanish in school, and hope to be a bit better than I am now!

    I am a person who is open to new ideas, friendly to others and most of all, always happy! Through traveling (which I wish to do way more in the future) I have learned how easy it is for some stranger you speak to for a short amount of time to inspire and move you - no matter how they look on the outside or what you may perceive at first. I strongly resonate with the idea that one should not judge a book by its cover, and try to keep a warm and non-judgemental outlook on life. :) Life is made up of countless human connections and experiences, and I want to discover every one throughout traveling unknown places.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - I speak fluent English and Japanese! I also have teaching experience in an English school in Tokyo (taught English to kids from age 7-18) I enjoy teaching a lot.
    - Artistic skill. My passion is art and design; I have experience in Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop/InDesign/XD as well as traditional art such as drawing and painting.
    - Paying respect to guests/customers. Most of my working experience comes from Japan, where I've been trained to treat customers with great service and respect. I worked at a hostel in 2017 in Spain which has helped me build a more solid skill in that field!
    - Hard worker

    I consider myself warm, open to new ideas and most of all, friendly! I hope to spread some happiness through big smiles. :)

  • Languages spoken

    Japanese, English (both fluent), Spanish (beginner)

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Japanese/American

  • What else ...

    I hope to get to know some of the most remarkable people in the world and soak up the wonderful cultures I have yet to experience!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

fionnosullivan


Photos

Feedback