Steven

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2019 - 30/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling


    Canyoning, kayaking, hiking, longboarding, climbing, camping ...
    Always up for any outdoor activities. Hit me up if you are looking for a hiking/adventure buddy

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Kia ora, I am Steven (30) from Germany.
    I am an active, easy-going and calm person who loves to be outside, enjoy nature and do all kinds of outdoor activities. I love going on adventures, learning new things and emracing new ideas from interesting people.

    Back in Germany, I quit my job as a graphic designer, sold most of my belongings and started travelling around Europe in early May 2019. Since October I am travelling through New Zealand. As Covid19 spread, I stayed in New Zealand much longer than I ever expected. The people I've met, the experiences I've had, and the work I've done since I started travelling have had a huge impact on me.

    I would fit best in a quiet and remote place where I can be outside and physically work most of the time, and I am particularly interested in Permaculture Design and natural building.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Videography
    Photography
    Technology
    Culture
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in computer science in media at the end of 2016, and then worked as a graphic designer for over two years. During that time I also helped a friend build/renovate a house and learned a lot about craftsmanship.

    During my WorkAway stays, I helped on a construction site, built a staircase on a slope in a garden, built a fence for a pig pen and a horse barn, made a concrete foundation, cooked, helped milk goats, cleaned sanitary facilities, painted walls, a ceiling and a house, helped build a straw bale house, chopped wood, took care of kids and dogs, and did many jobs in the garden like pruning, mowing, planting and weeding.

    I would consider myself a handyman with advanced skills and can handle all kinds of tools: Weed eater, hedge trimmer, skil, chain and other saws, hammer, grinder, drill, ax... I am always happy to expand my skills and knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I am patient and reliable, an animal-loving person, hobby photographer and enjoy playing various card and board games such as canasta, skat, risk and chess.

    I love all kinds of sports and activities, from snowboarding and longboarding to playing frisbee, hiking, slacklining, kayaking and rock climbing. I always enjoy trying and learning something new , pushing my limits and getting out of my comfort zone. My most recent challenge was walking the length of the South Island, which was an amazing experience in many ways.

    I am able to prepare some meals, but have limited cooking skills and am always excited to try all types of local cuisine.

    It became essential to me to live a healthy, simple and sustainable life.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, I eat everything

Photos

Feedback