Tatjana

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/10/2019 - 25/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Tatjana, some people call me Stella. I listen to both.
I strongly believe in the power of sharing and learning from each other as a way to connect to people, and I don't just mean skills and work but also songs, stories, and food. That is why I think workaway is such a great concept and I have had truly wonderful experiences with it ever since I signed up last February.

    At the moment I am in Buenos Aires, where I learned Spanish about a year ago and am volunteering at a local hostel. It's my second time here. Next I’ll be headed back to Sao Paulo, where I already spent about two months in January and February. I would love to volunteer there as well and also properly start learning Portuguese.
    I have a great interest in learning languages because I love how it opens up my mind to new ways of thinking that are simply not possible in any other language. I am also very much looking forward to improving what I have learned so far.

    I have worked many different jobs... mostly low-wage, minimum-wage or unpaid. I was a waitress, a kitchen hand, a sales assistant, I worked in theaters (on stage as well as in front of it and behind the scenes), I did promotion jobs, window dressing, visual merchandising, I cleaned appliances, prepared food, counted money, and assisted many customers. I also studied for a bit. But what I love most is acting and performing, as well as writing and singing. Generally speaking, I am a very artistic person, but I also acquired a few basic gardening and constructing skills while traveling and working as a volunteer.

    Some things that I would love to learn and/or get better at are how to sew, how to edit videos, and skills for self-sustainability, living off-grid and in harmony with the environment, like composting, growing fruits and vegetables, building, repairing, and repurposing things... my dream is to one day live in a tiny house or a container home and it would be amazing if I would be able to build most of it with my own hands.
    I love spending time in nature, but I love big cities, too. I love hot summer days and nights that never get cold but I also appreciate a chilly evening at a campfire.

    That I love traveling is probably quite obvious or I wouldn’t be here. However, I am looking for ways to travel more sustainably, like taking more time to stay in one place, to take everything in and truly get to know local people as well as other travelers who share similar values. I like to not plan too far ahead, to keep an open mind, to see where life, the universe, destiny — whatever you want to call it — will lead me.
    Well, it has lead me here and I can’t wait to explore this wonderful new side of the world!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I think my best skill is my ability to learn and adapt to new routines quickly as well as the fact that I am a very thoughtful person. Other than that I can cook pretty amazing, healthy vegan food and I enjoy doing that, too. I’m good at teaching and I’m a fast learner, especially when it comes to languages. I do not consider any type of work "below me." I have an eye for aesthetics and a beautiful singing voice. I love writing, reading to people, acting, and performing. Generally speaking I am a very artistic person but I am open for (almost) any kind of work and eager to learn new skills!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    While I love doing the things that I listed as my skills I would also like to improve my abilities when it comes to things like gardening, renovating, and construction work. I am more of a creative person, not so much of a builder but I am strong-willed and independent and eager to learn! I also tend to underestimate myself in this area.
    I value open and honest communication, because I find that it helps prevent — or at least sort out — conflicts, as most of them are based on misunderstandings.
    As I’ve mentioned before I am a vegan (I’ve been one for more than 11 years) as I strongly believe that all living beings as well as the Earth have the wish and thus the right to live in peace as much as we humans do. I am opposed to any form of discrimination and oppression, towards human as well as non-human animals. I also aim to further reduce any negative influence that I might have on this planet by learning how to live more sustainably and independently.
    As much as I believe that traveling is a wonderful opportunity to expand our worldview and learn from each other, it can be harmful to the environment which is why I am very much looking forward to volunteering rather than following touristic paths. Capitalism has taught us that sharing is weak, that we should rather strive to keep as much as we can to ourselves, when really in sharing lies our strength. Sharing, not only physical things, but also, and probably even more importantly, thoughts, skills, fears, and dreams, is our future.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No, but I choose to abstain from all animal products out of respect for all life forms.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I mainly eat a whole foods vegan diet, which means no highly processed foods like oil or refined sugar.

Photos

Feedback