Jane

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/02/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My friends say that I am someone patient. I think this is especially right when I do something I enjoy, for instance when I take care of a small child, find ways to explain a difficult notion, or make curtains for a friend. Generally speaking, I am interested in learning things : foreign languages among others, and don't mind sounding funny.
    Helping others to learn is a pleasure too - one has to figure out what can be difficult for them, which is not always obvious.
    I also have a great time working with other people to design and make all kinds of objects or clothes : I have recently taken part in an unusual project, making a World War I Canadian uniform for a giant ( see photos). In the North of France, where I live, each village has its giant, the idea was a homage to the young Canadians who died in the Vimy battle nearby.
    I think I could be a help to hosts who are too busy to make clothes for their own giant... or perhaps just to do everything they would like for their family and home.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I speak French, and fluent English (teacher of English for 17 years).
    I am used to taking care of a family and a large house (3 children, now grown-up).
    So, I have some experience in organizing tasks like shopping, meals, tidying and cleaning so that they do not get overwhelming.
    I am quite good at sewing, not bad at painting walls or furniture, hanging wallpaper or upholstering armchairs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Age

    67

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I like reading, reading stories to children, helping people understand or learn things I have some knowledge of.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback