Sophie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Laos, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/01/2020 - 31/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a peaceful, friendly and open-minded individual that has taken part in various volunteering opportunities in South East Asia and at home in the UK.

    I currently have long term plans to become an English teacher but would like practice and gain experience by partaking in voluntary projects before officially turning it into a career. I'm therefore very interested in language practise projects and meeting people from all over the world who want to improve their English skills.

    I prefer natural environments and love to learn about different cultures and lifestyles in any kind of place.

    I have a degree in the computing field and would be also happy to share those skills. As well as this I am able to do hands on work including gardening, general maintenance / home care & helping with chores. I especially love animals and am not afraid of getting my hands dirty too!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a professional web and graphic designer and happy to share creative skills. Although, I like hands-on work and interacting with people & animals with interest in hospitality in hostels / cafes - I have experience running and maintaining a shop as a volunteer in my hometown.

    English is my first language - I have not yet any experience in teaching but am a patient listener and would like to experience helping with language practice.
    Computing and Internet (Have a degree in Multimedia and worked as a web designer for over 10 years). Happy to help with any form of online admin or fundraising.
    Creative - I also worked in graphic design and have a strong interest in painting and all forms of art.
    Gardening & Farming - Some experience working on an organic farms, including planting, watering and harvesting fruit and veg.
    Animal care - I have a lot of compassion for animals and a lot of experience caring for cats.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German (A2)

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I'm very adventurous and easy-going, happy to give anything a try and quick to learn new things :-)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Volunteering at Cat Sanctuary in Penang
Scenic train journeys in Myanmar
Volunteering at a Meditation centre in Myanmar
Permaculture festival during volunteering on Organic Farm in Thailand

Feedback