Sophie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/06/2021 - 16/06/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am wanting to expand my practical experience in Regenerative Agriculture. I have studied and worked in agriculture in Australia, Brazil and the US for over 10 years and just finished a Master of Ecology, but I still find myself unsatiated and yearning for connection and understanding beyond the academic and field knowledge I have acquired in fairly conventional settings. I am looking for experiences where I can get my hands dirty and learn more about regenerative agriculture/indigenous ecology/permaculture/earth rituals, and hopefully in the process, be of service to my hosts and the land they steward.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I have many years experience in biological insect control, specifically using naturally occurring baculoviruses to control pest caterpillars. During these years I provided technical information to farmers and agronomists about their insect control options, organised field trials and visited farmers in the field when they had queries.

    I also have been a part of permaculture gardens in Australia and Switzerland, although both were very experimental. I have taken a Growing vegetables permaculture course with Milkwood in Australia and have grown my own vegetables and worm farms in rural Australia for many years.

    I definitely still have a lot to learn about permaculture and regenerative agricultural practices, but I hope that the little I do know, as well as my physical labour and creative and practical mind can be of service to a worthwhile project!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    35

  • What else ...

    Meditating with and walking in Nature are my greatest joys. I also love board games. Especially word games. I love many different genres of music and I love to sing. I love playing sports and doing physical activities such as squash, hiking, swimming , yoga, dancing etc. I love eating and preparing nourishing food and I am a bit of a purist when it comes to what I put in and on my body. I love sleeping under the stars and generally being outdoors as much as possible.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I tend to avoid gluten and dairy but I can also be flexible if the situation requires it. I am pretty happy as long as there are plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables :)

Photos

Feedback