Solomon

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Super Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I am currently a student at Colby College in Waterville, ME. I am studying Global Studies and Spanish. I am interested in human rights work and sustainable agricultural practices. I have experience working on farms and volunteering with small NGOs around Southeast Asia. I spent a year (2018-2019) backpacking around Southeast Asia through Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar, The Philippines, India, Nepal, Hong Kong, Singapore, and China. While travelling I gained skills in English teaching, permaculture, and carpentry and building projects.

    I have also studied abroad in Salamanca, Spain. In Spain I travelled extensively around Europe and had the opportunity to travel to Tunisia. I am interested in immersing myself with different people and learning about other ways of life. I alm looking forward to progressing my Spanish through travel to South America.

    **I am vaccinated for Covid-19 and looking forward to volunteering August of 2021!

    In my free time I enjoy cooking, cycling, and trail running. I am a competitive cyclist and runner and have been racing since a young age. I also really love going on hiking trips and snowboarding. I am currently working as a bike mechanic in the heart of Chicago. I am eager to work in and explore different parts of the world!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    -I've spent multiple summers living and working on a farm in the Appalachian mountains of the US
    -Worked on small organic farm in the US
    -I worked and currently work as a bike mechanic
    -I have worked on different carpentry projects as well as landscaping gardens
    -I worked as a camp counselor and babysitter and have lots of experience working with kids
    -I have spent a lot of time studying languages and can teach English as well as speak Spanish and Hebrew
    -I have experience working with animals, especially dogs
    -I have spent time living "off the grid" and working on primitive construction projects
    -I have done work with social media and marketing and am knowledgeable for tech as well as teaching how to use various computer programs
    -I spend a lot of time cooking and am fully capable of preparing meals as well as assisting in the kitchen in any way
    -I enjoy writing and working on different art projects, writing is one of my strengths
    -Interested in Outdoor education, I am a passionate outdoorsman!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Hebrew: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am certified in TEFL and am looking forward to opportunities to teach English!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I'm really easy going and will integrate into any environment. I'm really compatible and up for any task!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback