Joanna

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Hungary, Slovenia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2017 - 14/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm a 24 year old recent graduate currently traveling through Europe. I studied International Relations, Spanish, and Latin American and Caribbean studies, with special interests in Agriculture and movement of people. Since then, I've been wandering and wondering. I finished the Camino Frances route of the Camino de Santiago late last year and decided skip my flight home and travel some more, it was all too exciting to up and leave. Just a girl trying to go with the rhythm of life and let it lead the way.

    As far as experience: I did a couple workaways in Portugal, both of which were great first experiences (one was a lot outdoor and garden work and the other was domestic hostel work) I have met amazing people through these experiences - I truly believe travel is nothing without sharing with and learning from all those you meet along the way. Also, I just finished working as an au pair in Rome, Italy, where I also picked up some odd jobs teaching English and organizing camps. Some previous WWOOFing experience and working on a conservation reserve in Ecuador sparked an interest in self-sustainability and agricultural projects, and I am eager to learn more. I also have 6+ years of waitressing, bartending, and restaurant experience, including hospitality and catering, (and I love meeting new people) so would be well suited and comfortable with work in a hostel or guesthouse. It would be particularly amazing to find work within a community organization or NGO, there is so much I'd love to learn.

    I love kind people, animals, dancing around, good live music, good conversation, good food, and a good laugh. Just the good life! I value hard work, learn quickly, and I'm not scared to try. I want to learn as much as I can, see as much as I can, and above all else, grow as much as I can. So please put me to work - wherever it may be, I'm happy to help and get my hands dirty :)

    Fluent in English and Spanish, but really wanting to improve the very very little French and Italian I have and learn any other language

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Spanish and English language - fluent
    Waitressing and customer service experience
    Childcare and volunteering experience - babysitting, nannying, and education mentoring
    Gardening - planting, weeding, maintenance
    Animal care
    Computer literate

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, little Italian, even less French

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    https://www.facebook.com/joanna.smith.100

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Laughing with some Llamas!

Feedback