Shakeel

From: Mauritius

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2020 - 31/01/2021

  • Badges

    Writer
    Photographer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified
    Explorer

Watch my profile video


  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I'm originally from Mauritius - a small tropical island in the southwestern Indian Ocean. I'm open-minded, easy-going, a good listener and curious to discover and learn more about different cultures. Above all, i really value meaningful and lasting friendships.
    I studied electronics and computer programming in Denmark for the past 3 years and now, i am taking a break to travel and explore Europe for several months. I am eager to help in many different ways to make a positive impact around me. This approach also gives a lot of meaning to my travels.
    After volunteering at several hosts in different countries, i have realised that the best experience for both volunteer and host is truly centered around these few key aspects; honesty, respect and gratitude.
    I prefer slow travelling as i believe that it allows a deeper appreciation of the local people, culture and location. I enjoy hanging out with the locals and experience their way of living.
    I am motivated and hard-working. I am always willing to improve or learn something new. I enjoy working alone and also as part of a team. I have several different work experiences that i would be happy to utilise while volunteering. I am very interested to participate in DIY projects, especially if they have a meaningful impact in people's lives, help communities and protect our natural environment.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I can help or assist with electronic DIY projects.
    I speak and write fluent English and French. I can teach these languages. I can also speak some Hindi. The native language from my island (Mauritius) is Creole and i could also teach it as part of cultural exchange.
    I have experience as a private tutor in maths for primary and lower secondary education. I could teach based on the school syllabus or assist other teachers in the classroom. I am also very interested in exploring alternative education programs.
    I worked as a computer technician in the past. I can help to teach IT and also fix Windows computers.
    I was a freelance website designer. I created a computer sales website, a fashion and design school website, as well as a painter's gallery and blog. I can design basic websites, including Wordpress.
    I can assist and help elderly people. I helped my grandparents in their daily lives for several years. They were both above 80 years old and they had trouble moving around. For example, i would go to the shop to get their groceries and i would also help around the house.
    I love pets and i like to take care of them. I have always had pets ever since i was born. I've had many dogs and cats who all lived long and happy lives.
    I feel naturally inclined to get involved in community projects, especially to help the less fortunate among us. I volunteered in my country (Mauritius) to help poor communities by distributing collected donations to kids, such as clothes and books.
    A few of my volunteering activities when i was living in Denmark:
    1. I helped at a local meditation centre to prepare and organise the venue before big events. I felt motivated to contribute to a peaceful cause aimed at helping the local community.
    2. I managed a friend's apartment which he put on Airbnb while he was travelling for several months. I welcomed new guests arriving every few days and i would give them a tour of the apartment and provided them with helpful information, such as, interesting places to visit, etc. I was also cleaning the apartment.
    3. I hosted many interesting people via Couchsurfing, which is a popular website used by travellers. Here is my profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/shakeelgo
    I shared my meals with them and i did my best to make them feel comfortable. If i had extra time, i would also offer to take them around the city to visit some of the tourist areas.
    4. I took care of my friends' Chinchilla pets for several days and on many occasions when they went away for vacation.
    And my other volunteering activities while travelling in Europe:
    1. I worked for 2 months on a self-sustainable and eco-friendly farm in Algarve, Portugal. I helped to design an automated water pump and irrigation system with WiFi configuration. I also learned how to operate a Bobcat to collect and carry stones which were used to build a wall. Additionally, i tutored one of the farmer's children in maths in the evening.
    2. I worked as a painter for about 2 weeks in Tarifa, Spain. I helped to renovate a hostel.
    3. I worked for six weeks at a no-kill dog shelter in Pula, Croatia. I helped to take care of rescued dogs who were abandoned. I worked as part of a team whose ultimate goal was to find those animals a loving home through adoption.
    4. I worked for 2 months as a gardener in Labin, Croatia. I did a bit of everything from weeding to building support structures for the plants. I also did general work in the yard, including using the grass cutter machine.
    5. I did house-sitting on several occasions while in Croatia. I was alone for several weeks and in charge of the house as well as garden maintenance and taking care of several pets.
    6. I worked for almost 2 months to revive an abandoned property and make it into an ecofarm in Hrvatska Kostajnica, Croatia. I participated in various building and repair tasks with a DIY approach. I took care of the dogs, cat and i was also active in the garden with a focus on permaculture.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Haitian Creole: Fluent
    Hindi: Intermediate

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Mauritian

  • What else ...

    I can adapt to almost any diet, so i'm not picky and always curious to try new kinds of food. I enjoy drinking hot tea. In my spare time, i love reading books, magazines and online articles. I like to listen and share personal stories about life and travel experiences. I really enjoy long daily walks in nature to relax, feel peaceful and stay healthy. To capture all the beautiful sights and experiences while travelling, i have taken a keen interest in photography and i also try to make short videos to immortalise the many precious and unforgettable moments.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I am a bit lactose intolerant, so i try to avoid drinking milk.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Operating a Bobcat on an ecofarm in Lagos, Portugal to carry rocks from the hills to help build a wall.
Taking Pipi for a stroll around the eco farm in Hrvatska Kostajnica, Croatia.
Volunteering at the animal shelter in Pula, Croatia.
Painting the terrace of a hostel under renovation in Tarifa, Spain.
Building a geodesic dome greenhouse with other volunteers in Lagos, Portugal.
Socialising and having lunch after work with other volunteers in Portugal.
Hanging out with other volunteers at the eco farm in Portugal.
Gearing up for some grass cutting!
Helping to install the family-size pool in the hot Croatian summer.
Mulching branches for woodchips to use in the permaculture garden.
Gardening in a small cozy village in Labin, Croatia.
Building a wattle fence using twigs and branches on an eco-farm in Hrvatska Kostajnica, Croatia.
Making an electronic irrigation project, alongside young learners, at the Fablab on an eco-friendly farm in Portugal.
Sharing love with some of the rescued puppies at the dog shelter in Pula, Croatia.
During my free time, relaxing by the Una river, on the border between Croatia and Bosnia.

Feedback