Selma Fastrup

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chile, Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Reunion, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2018 - 06/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1057

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am a young Danish woman travelling down the eastern coast of Africa.

    I grew up in Denmark, in the heart of Copenhagen basically. But at 14 my parents and I moved to Tanzania, as he’d gotten a job for an NGO working with the unions in East Africa. I studied at an IBM school and helped out at a place called Shanga where disabled people would blow glass for a living and did similar voluntary works. After my studies I spent half a year in French Guadeloupe, Caribbean, working as a bartender. I spent the summer of 2018 at Svalbard, the northernmost inhabited area in the world, again working as a bartender.
    On my free time I play rugby, it doesn’t take a lot to become elite here in Denmark since no Danes are into it, but I still take a little pride in it ;) When I don’t run around chasing other ladies on a muddy field I like to do a little meditation. It was a lot easier in calm and quiet Guadeloupe, but I try my best to complete it every day. In Guadeloupe I, in addition to the French, got into surfing off course – I’m pretty bad, but it would be amazing to go again! And I love reggae music.
    At 16 I started working in different areas of hospitality: bartending, reception and head waitress. I also have basic skills in mixology. I did half a year as an intern at a big hostel in Copenhagen, where I also trained others.
    I speak Danish, English. Norwegian, some French (mainly hospitality) and some Swahili.
    My college education was science based.
    I have both free diving and PADI certificate.
    I do basic photography, and thus I can help with promotion through social medias - my Instagram is called selmafastrup, in case you want to see some of it.

    I started my trip in Ethiopia, where I volunteered at an ecolodge and permaculture farm, here I helped building traditional mud houses, permaculture and general maintenance of the lodge. In Kenya I volunteered behind the bar in Tulia house backpackers in Mombasa and at the Kilifi New Year's Festival. In Uganda I volunteered at a coffee farm and eco lodge.

    I love working with people, I love creating smiles and laughs and hearing others' stories.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked as a waitress and bartender for a year and a half - I've got plenty of skills in this environment. Additionally, I am fluent in English and I can teach this to others.

    I have done a lot of gardening my whole life, and I am very interested in this.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Danish, learning French, little Swahili

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback