Tom & Amy

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    India
    View all
  • Description

    *Updated*
    Hello! We are Tom and Amy. We're a friendly and adaptable couple who love to explore this wonderful planet, meeting beautiful humans (and animals!) as we go. We love being creative as well as helping people bring their own ideas to life.

    By trade Amy is a vegan chef and Tom is a video editor and photographer, but there is of course so much more in our hearts.

    Around 4 years ago we really started to look at life differently. Inspired by trips to India and blessed with a hunger for more, we saw a glimmer of the opportunities that lay waiting for us all over the world if only we were to take a leap of faith. And so we changed our whole lives and have never looked back.

    We knew that for us, truly exploring was an all-or-nothing thing, so in 2016 Amy quit her job as an instrumental teacher and cake-maker and Tom as the manager of a busy London video department. We sold, donated and boxed up our belongings, moved our beloved cat in with a foster-dad and bought a one-way ticket to India.

    Since then, we have explored many corners of this beautiful planet, with intermittent trips back to UK to work and visit family. Our travels have been a combination of volunteering, work-exchange, and straight-up backpacking.

    We have travelled Asia quite extensively (India in particular seems to have a magnetic pull) as well as new Zealand. This year we took a beautiful overland trip from London through Belgium, Germany, Austria and Italy before spending a blissful month in Bali. It was on this trip that Amy transformed her love of cooking by training to become a qualified chef in both Tuscany (Italian macrobiotic cooking) and Ubud (raw vegan cuisine).

    On our travels, have met wonderful people, experienced unbelievable landscapes, been humbled by new cultures and learned a lot about ourselves. One of the greatest blessings has been stepping onto the spiritual path and having our eyes and hearts opened, allowing us to journey down new paths in our lives.

    During the time we now spend in London, Tom splits his time between freelance video-editing and volunteering for charities or companies with ethical values. Amy spends much of her time either working or volunteering for Made In Hackney, a wonderful Community cookery school charity which helps people to lead healthier, happier lives by providing free, vital education to those who would not normally have access to it. Discovering this charity has been life changing for Amy who became involved in many areas such as project management, digital marketing, fundraising, cooking and outreach.

    We try to lead lives that show compassion for the environment and all living beings and care deeply about the planet and animal welfare. Our vegan lifestyle is one big demonstration of this and like many others, we are doing the best we can. We both meditate and practise yoga regularly, which for us is an important way to stay connected to our true selves, enabling us to being the most loving versions of ourselves that we can be. We love being out in nature, being creative, making food (Amy), learning, reading, photography (Tom) and generally absorbing whatever the universe has to offer us.

    We are both very positive, easy-going and grateful people. Workaway suits as as it allows us to help others, whilst also broadening our own lives through meeting new people, learning and visiting new places. Between us, we have a wide range of skills that we would love to use for good and there is so much we would love to learn, so please feel free to ask if you feel we could be of help.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Languages
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    We can confidently offer the following skills between us, but if there's something that's not there, we're always happy and willing to learn something new!
    --
    • Vegan cooking (both raw and cooked cuisine)
    • Photography
    • Video production (filming, editing, motion graphics)
    • Creative writing
    • Graphic design
    • Vegan baking, cake decorating
    • Blogging
    • Project management
    • General Management
    • Social media management and content
    • Teaching (music, computer skills, English)
    • Calligraphy, arts and crafts
    • First Aid
    • Charity work
    • Fundraising
    • Basic gardening
    • Animal care
    • Hostel work
    • Event planning
    --
    Through workaway we have also gained experience in:
    • Organic farming and permaculture
    • Gardening
    • basic construction
    --
    We would love to learn more about
    • Running a guest house
    • Running a cafe
    • Everything to do with coffee!
    • Permaculture
    • Conservation
    • Animal care
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Age

    38 & 36

  • What else ...

    http://www.amyhiller.com
    http://www.tomskelton.me
    https://www.instagram.com/amy_hiller_
    https://www.instagram.com/twskelton
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDsn3UsQrd8-LOvYQqkLL3Q

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both vegan.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback