seanwestern

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Malta, Netherlands, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/10/2016 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I have travelled extensively through over 70 countries on 20 trips through Europe, Asia, Australia, North and South America . I have worked in a variety of roles in England and abroad including France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Israel, Panama and Australia. I play guitar and like to paint, I have painted band designs on leather jackets and over 70 murals. Most of the volunteer work I have done with Workaway has been gardening, landscaping, painting and decorating. At a recent Workaway in Portugal I painted 20 murals. In Israel I worked as a chicken farmer, gardener and installing irrigation systems for crops.
    I am keen on learning new skills as well as developing skills I already have.
    In my spare time I enjoy TV, movies, video games ( particularly retro games- I'm travelling with 4 games consoles!), reading graphic novels, playing guitar and snooker & pool.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Hostel management: Reception duties, Cash handling, Taking reservations by phone, Email and text, booking in guests, recruitment of volunteers.
    TESOL Level 1 Teaching Assistant Certificate.
    Responsible for grass control, using pedestrian self-propelled rotary and cylinder box mowers.
    Applying selective and total herbicides.
    Strimming all grass areas including banks, lawns, where gang mowers are unable to operate.
    Edging grass areas around building paths, roadways, hedges etc.
    Digging and weeding as necessary all flower and shrub border.
    Trimming hedges and pruning shrubs and trees.
    Installing irrigation systems to water newly planted trees, shrubs, plants etc
    Applying fertilizer and weed killer to grass areas.
    Tree felling.
    Full clean Driving License.
    Experienced in driving Counter Balance and Side Reach Fork Lift Trucks, ride on mowers and a variety of tractors with trailers.
    3 years experience in home insulation installing loft and cavity wall insulation.
    Taping, plastering and painting & decorating.
    Re-pointing random stone and rendering.
    Painting murals and signs - I have now painted over 70 murals for Workaway hosts.
    Upcycling. I have now built a cat house, bed side table, work bench and desk from old pallets and packing crates.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Hebrew: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Previous experience includes 18 months as a gardener in Israel on a kibbutz landscaping, mowing, spraying and installing irrigation systems.
    I previously worked as a Home Insulation Technician insulating lofts for 3 years.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat fish

Photos

Feedback