From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/09/2018 - 30/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I come from a large family, supported by my father through his small construction business that he started in 1985. I have been working for him, building roofs on houses all around California, since age 14. I am now a bartender as well, working as a level 1 Sommelier; and studying for my level 2. In addition, my greatest passion is agriculture/viniculture. I am a farmhand for a very large, sustainable, family-owned farm called Underwood Family Farms. I sell produce in farmers markets all over the Southern California region, where I am able to increase my knowledge of agriculture, mother-nature, as well as expose myself to the same hard working type of people my father raised me to be.
    I have traveled all around the United States, finding work in all types of restaraunts. I started as a dishwasher in Hawaii, and from there I quickly worked my way in to every job in a restaraunt (except for owning one myself). My favorite place to be is behind the bar, serving drinks, because I am able to display my social personality, and unique customer service skills. That being said, I could step into a kitchen and cook any type of cuisine. I worked on the line, first at the salad station, next as Saute Chef, which is one of my fondest accomplishments. My desire to be a level 2 Sommelier revolves around the fact that it is the only job in the restaraunt that I don't yet know how to do.
    After a referral from a friend who has been very successful with Workaway for 4+ years, I feel like this is a great opportunity for me to spread the knowledge, and love I have for travel, healthy living, and ambition, in hope to learn the same from others through their eyes. I am very open, and enthusiastic to try new things; as well as accomplish tasks in a diligent manner.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    Great with children, Music Production/Festival Production, Cooking, Farming/Gardening, all sorts of manual labor, Bartender, Sommelier, Customer Service (anywhere from dive bars to fine dining), Social Media

  • Languages spoken


  • Age


  • What else ...

    I am much better in person than through text :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements