MaKenzie

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Friends (3)

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Greetings!
    My name is MaKenzie and I am from a small town in the United States.
    In 2019, I spent six weeks traveling Iceland via Workaway. To say that it changed my life, would be an understatement. I learned more about myself and this world than ever before and now I am so excited to have yet another adventure in the summer of 2021. I had big plans to travel across Europe last summer, but with the pandemic those plans were...um. well. squashed. So here I am at it again! Currently, I am in nursing school. My program only allows me 1 wk of summer break, so I chose to spend those precious days in the Caribbean!

    Home is a family farm with my parents, in Georgia. Over the years we have had a variety of animals including dairy goats, a horse, chickens, and pigs. Last summer we added rabbits to the mix. Also, after we added 20 swales in our pasture this winter and was planning the garden out, my parents decided they needed additional help and opened with Workaway!

    If I were to describe myself, I'd say I am outgoing, proactive, patient with children, and pleasantly mannered (and love a good laugh).

    Out of school, I am a professional portrait and wedding photographer. I started my own business in 2017 and I have had all sorts of photography opportunities, from shooting for a magazine to capturing intimate weddings. Getting to travel allows me the ability to go out and capture more of this beautiful world we live in.

    Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies. I love trying new foods (even weird ones like the rotten shark from Iceland). Over the past year, I've delved into the art of bread-making and making recipes from around the world. If you have some to share, I will gladly take them!

    To give you an idea of my past workaway experience.... in Iceland I stayed with a family who owned two guesthouses (11 rooms total) and assisted guests, helped cook breakfast and dinner for them, and cleaned the rooms. I also stayed with a family that had two children (under the age of 3) that needed some extra help with cooking and cleaning the house.

    My motto is Þetta reddast, meaning that life will work itself out. Who knows where our feet will take us, so let's just go with it.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    -childcare
    -animal husbandry
    -maintaining guesthouses and guest relations
    -housework (I like organization ;))
    -cooking + baking (gluten-free and regular)
    -photography
    -horseback riding
    -sailing
    -foraging
    -fiber arts (including knitting, crocheting, and embroidery)
    -performing arts
    -playing instruments
    -painting
    -experience with website building and social media (Instagram, Facebook, etc.)
    -language help
    -horticulture

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I would be more than happy to assist you in learning English!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I am especially eager to sail on this trip, if you or anyone you know has a boat, that's where I would love to spend my free time!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No, thank God

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback