Sarah & Benoit

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    149

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    I was born and grew up in England, but have been living in France for over 30 years, the past 20 with my French partner, Benoit who is an architect. I am a scenic artist, painting set decorations for theatre and operas, and TV, and when I dont have any work on,(mainly winter time), I work on my own paintings and sculptures, try to have at least one exhibition a year, and other than that, travel as much as possible, but always with a purpose. I have always been horse mad, started riding aged 5, and now have my own horse. Benoit and I also renovate houses, so have a fair bit of experience in building and decorating. (We are also hosts for workawayers). He has worked on several projects for alternative houses built of wood, straw bales, or earth, and also studied design, and loves to create lamps out of many different materials. We have volunteered several times; projects we set up on our own, painting murals in schools to help teach English, in Sri Lanka, Senegal, and Ghana; and in the Seychelles, I worked for a nature conservation organisation, painting images of the local wildlife for their visitors centre. I've also painted murals,(paid), for hotels in Italy and Hong Kong. We both love to swim, snorkel and scuba dive too and have our PADI open water. We are pretty open and adaptable and love to learn about other cultures and help out where we can. We have done workaways in Belize, Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, and Italy.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Mural painting/ sign writing
    Painting/ decorating;
    Building
    Carpentry
    Gardening
    Farm work; horses
    can ride a motorbike
    speak several languages

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Age

    55 & 59

  • Nationality

    British / French

  • What else ...

    Some years ago, I spent a year in Australia, during which time I worked at the theatre in Adelaide, on sheep staions in outback Queensland, and set decoration in Sydney. I have independantly set up a couple of volunteer painting projects for nature conservation in the Seychelles, part of which I spent on a very small island painting birds, which I adored, I'm almost vegetarian,(I eat chicken), but not a fussy eater. I enjoy camping and outdoor life. I'm happiest when its hot and sunny, and try to escape the European winter for a few weeks every year. I have a lot of energy and like to be busy. I've also worked in restaurants and bars, and on several archeological digs.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

mural in Rodrigues, (Mauricius)
The "boathouse" we built in Tobago
M'y mural in Antigua for"Adopt a coastline"
Us painting a mural in a school in Sri Lanka
Our mural at Belize zoo. 2016
Benoît

Feedback