Sandy

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 28/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm Sandy. I'm from San Diego. So far I've been to 40 countries (I can almost say them in alphabetical order!) and I hope to get to the rest some day. Talking travel and sharing travel stories is heaven for me. Did a workaway at a surf camp in Costa Rica and I was planning on going back to Central America to live, but with the world on lockdown the new plan is to drive around the states for awhile and see the ones I haven't gotten to yet. There's so much to see and learn out there. People are awesome everywhere. Happy travels! P.S. Creepy guys please don't send me random messages to say....... HI. I'm not looking for a booty call.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Skills...hmm? My dad only had daughters so I'm pretty handy. I was a yacht refinisher (boat painter) for years, commercial and house painter, tile setter, sailboat sailor, cocktail waitress in Waikiki, merchant marine, I can cook and bake way too many goodies. I was a nanny a few times, then I had kids of my own. For the last couple years now I have been working at an indoor farm. I can sew a little and knit squares and rectangles. Musically I can keep the beat on congas, and sing a tiny bit if I'm given the words ahead of time. My travel ukulele is screaming at me to learn to play it and boy does a nice cabin in the woods sound like a good place to practice. I'm a super good listener, fast intuitive learner, but my real super power is in my hugs. Now with COVID I guess only cats and dogs will get them!!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    58

  • What else ...

    Adventure is second nature to me and I love being outside playing. A nice spot by a river to learn to fly fish would be awesome! I'll have my ukulele with me to finally learn to play and I'll bring cards if anyone is up for some poker. For the last 3 years I have been living in the Southern California desert and not totally loving it. Living in AC is really not for me. I miss trees and the ocean or even a river. I'm looking to get back to nature and just chill, being around kids and/or animals would be a big plus. Working on the novel during quiet time is always good. My farm job for the last few years is very physical and since most hosts only work for half a day, please don't let my age scare you. I'm old school and when it's WORK I'm there 8-12 hrs kicking butt without complaining. Half a day--no problem.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not that I'm aware of.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but I can cook for various diets.

Photos

Feedback