Sabine

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey y’all, I’m Sabine. Language has been weaving itself throughout my life, and especially foreign languages provide me with access to communicating with a diverse crowd of people. Having made language my profession in word and sound allows me to ask questions and see how other people live and why, and in line with which values (which happens to be possible without talking that much as well :)

    Coupled with traveling, getting to know and participating in someone's personal projects, I can’t think of a more exciting way to get and share inspiration. To me, traveling is less a question of what countries I’ve "done”, but an opportunity to articulate this interest and exchange ‘selfs’ in another language in another place.

    I’m more than interested in getting to know more about you and your project and help realise bits of it rather than ticking off task lists or getting advice for sightseeing on the weekend.

    It would be great if respect for nature could be our least common denominator!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Having worked in the catering industry for ten years, including at events such as the Munich Oktoberfest, and being a sister to five siblings, I’d like to think that I’m not scared to get my hands dirty.

    I’m independent and more than willing to help with anything and any chores. Painting walls, finding creative solutions, straight out carrying things (can't all be creative :) - bring it on.

    I'm keen to learn new skills and get to know more about sustainable solutions (permaculture!) and would love to spend as much time in nature as possible.

    Ducking away from work is not my thing and consider myself physically fit, so I’m sure we’ll find something I can help with :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Sign language (American): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    As an accredited translator and interpreter (A: German, B: English, learning French and German sign language), I'd be more than happy to contribute to any language-related projects to the best of my abilities and would be stoked to immerse myself into French!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    Some of my hobbies include being "active" (trying to avoid words like “exercise” or “workout”), e.g. yoga, hiking, swimming, generally just getting around by bike or foot, interested in climbing and slacklining), music (Fat Freddy’s Drop! Snarky Puppy, Electrocado), exploring interesting beliefs and experiences, or just generally hanging out with people.

    I’ve been in a constant and continuous struggle to quit smoking (not sure if this should be under “hobbies”). I have a sincere love for playing the piano. But any music played in a certain way can make me melt away. Movies (most recently: “Oh Boy”, looking forward to the 4th Matrix film!), series (Community, We Are Who We Are, The Office), books (most recently “The Remains of the Day”) and food and cooking. I think you can understand so much about a person in how and what they eat, and the value they attach to it. Being outside in nature is an ever baffling source of comfort for me :)

    I try to live in line with my values, e.g. sharing, respecting other people’s spheres. I take pride in being open to diversity.

    While exchanging with people is one of my main motivations for doing workaway, I also need some time to recharge my social batteries.

    I appreciate food and the time and resources spent on preparing a meal.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm inclined towards vegetarian / plant-based diet, but definitely very flexible here!

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback