Sara

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Indonesia, New Zealand, Philippines, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/11/2018 - 30/11/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1030

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there,

    My name is Sara and I am Portuguese. I am an explorer of the world and of myself and I intend to become a more conscious being.

    I consider myself happy, fun, creative, friendly, open minded and an woman who enjoys the simplest things in life and appreciates the value of the present moment.

    I am passionate about nature, I love beach and love mountain; but I also enjoy antique, historic architecture, live music shows, festivals and other cultural events. I love travelling, photography, art, animals...anything really that can help me expand my mind and understand this crazy world we live in!

    I quit my job in 2015 to travel and get to discover the world and whenever possible helping social projects. I have the desire to discover places, meet people, expand my knowledge about cultures and having fun.

    I continue to travel and try to understand this beautiful world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    • I started working in 1999, in part-time, I wanted to have my own money and help my mother, so I went to work as an event promoter in an exhibition center.
    • I spent 6 years at university to take a degree in Management and a Master's degree in Business Management.
    • I did a 6 month internship as a marketing assistant.
    • Because I wanted to try out other business departments, I was a year as Technical Procurement and Logistics Department in another company.
    • These my jobs had been in national companies and I wanted an international company because I also wanted to travel. So I went to work as a Management/Finance Consultant. I worked 2 years traveling with projects in Spain and 4 years in Angola. I specialize in project management; change management; strategic planning; business strategy; team work; financial reports; operational management; process improvement and business process design.
    • In 2015, tired of the business world, I decided to apply for a sabbatical year. I wanted to go travel, go explore the world and volunteer.
    During these years I did some volunteer work:
    • Clara Luna, Puerto Lopez – Ecuador - 2015
    I help in kids Club. This is an after school program for youth. The programs focus is to encourage and support literacy in the community and promote the love of reading. As a volunteer I took free reading time with the kids and I participated in a wide range of activities like:
    - Art Projects, for encourage creativity, develop motor skills, help in language development, build cultural awareness and, above all, encourage self expression and build confidence.
    - Environmental Initiatives educate the kids about their environment and encourages them to act as responsible citizens. Activities with recyclables materials and beach clean-ups!
    - Gardening.
    • The Book Bus, Puerto Lopez – Ecuador - 2015
    Visits to schools, taking adventures, dreams and color to kids through the books. Trying to inspire the children to engage with books through assisted reading, creative arts and games.
    • Parque Nacional Machalilla, Puerto Lopez – Ecuador - 2015
    There are two endangered species of sea turtles nest in Puerto López and it is necessary to monitor the sea turtle nesting by patrolling the Puerto López beach each morning, this was my function. (and I found some nests :) )
    • Fundacion José Rivera Chonillo, Puerto Lopez – Ecuador - 2015
    This organization strives to improve the lives of children and adults with disabilities through an educational and recreational programming, physiotherapy and speech and friendship. My job was to encourage the taste for art, reading, the excursions, support the living and help their community integration.
    • AHHA Education (ex-SOLS 24/7) - Díli, Timor-Leste - 2016
    I teaching Portuguese.
    • Tale-master - Talespace project - Klang, Malasia - 2016
    I helping in workshops for the underprivileged kids; help NGO Grace Community Services with their daily operations (foodbank) and distribute food, clothes to the homeless.
    • Thabarwa Centre - Yangon, Myanmar - 2016
    I helping the monks collect food in their daily alms round; in the kitchen; with patients in hospital, listening, talking and taking the wheelchair patients to the street; development of a garden project and development of a compost system.
    • Shwenadi Monastic School - Kyaubadaung, Myanmar – 2016
    I help with the English classes for the monks and students.
    • Always Reading Caravan (ARC) - Phrao, Thailand - 2016
    The project at ARC focused on increasing the organization's visibility and help in the fundraising. For that, I created some promotional videos and took photos.
    ...
    • I have a PADI license in open waters.
    I willing to help in anything, we are quite flexible on that.
    I did not return to my last job. I continue to travel and try to understand and find my place in this beautiful world. 😁

  • Languages spoken

    Portuguese, Spanish, English

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Portuguese

  • What else ...

    I already traveled for:
    Europe: Portugal, Spain, France, Poland, Czech Republic, Germany.
    Africa: Angola, Tunisia, Egypt, Lanzarote.
    North America: United States, Mexico, Dominican Republic.
    Central America: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua.
    South America: Ecuador.
    Asia: Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Timor-Leste, Cambodia.

    I am responsible, organized and cheerful. I like to be happy, I like to live life intensely without effort, I like to connect with good people of good energies.

    My travels are connecting me even more to nature. I seek new ways of living, outside the network, and in the future I intend to live in total communion with nature. I am ready to listen, learn and share knowledge and become more and more a good being!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Volunteering at Sunshine Kids Center Thailand (2016)
Camino de Santiago de Compostela - French way (2017)
Volunteering at Shwenadi Monastic School Myanmar (2016)
Volunteering at SOLS Timor-Lest (2016)
Volunteering at TaleSpace Malaysia (2016)
Volunteering at The Book Bus (2015)
Volunteering at the José Rivera Chonillo Foundation (2015)
Volunteering at Clara Luna Ecuador 2015
Tioman Island 2016
California 2018
WindTree Family 2017 (California)
Costa Rita 2018
Volcán Acatenango 2018 Guatemala
Bacalar 2018 Mexico
Traveling around 2018 Portugal

Feedback