From: United Arab Emirates

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/02/2018 - 25/10/2086

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    After traveling on and off to 31 countries, I've finally taken the leap to travel full time. I simply can't help but "wander".

    Born and raised in Dubai by a Filipino mother and Pakistani father, diverse cultures and languages are the norm to me. My high school alone had 62 nationalities and we were taught from day 1 that we were "world citizens".
    I didn't travel out of the country until I was 21, but the beauty about growing up in Dubai is how I was eating a Tanzanian mother's cooking - simply because I was over at my friend's house for a play date. This background has definitely shaped my appreciation of "diversity", and probably why I've always been more of a traveler than a tourist. I'm ever fascinated to learn more about our world - by living, rather than just visiting a place - which brought me here (Workaway).

    Artistic by nature, I have always freelanced (mainly in dance, hostessing, on location promoting, which includes customer service, and teaching). Hence, I easily adapt to different routines, gigs and projects - making Workaway even more perfect!

    I do love interacting with people from all sorts of backgrounds as that feels most like "home" to me. I've even dreamed of running my own hotel/hostel/b&b when (or rather, "IF") I'm done traveling, so as to have that "home of diversity" feeling. I did have a little taste of that dream by renting out my place on Airbnb all of 2017. However, I was renting the entire apartment out as I was traveling and most of the interactions with guests were only online. I always prefer face to face so I'm excited to work in any hospitality through here.

    I have volunteered before - in eco villages, in Peru and Chile (late 2016). My daily tasks included gardening, painting, some arts and crafts and helping out at their bakery. And I loved its rhythm, knowing I'd be back...

    What do I teach? Aerial silks - my undying passion!
    And yes, I travel with my silks :) Please feel free to ask for a lesson and I'd be more than happy teach you.

    Hmmm, what else? I guess to sum up, I live for adventures and taking "the road not taken" - My favourite poem back in school, which rings oh so true to my life - figuratively, and with my travels, literally ;)

    Instagram @wherewanderlusttakesyou

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Dance, aerial silks, yoga, visual arts, an eye for interior design (using minimal costs), improvising, writing, teaching, fast learner, and great at interacting with people from different backgrounds.

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic Arabic, basic Spanish, Tagalog, Urdu/Hindi

  • Age


  • Nationality

    Filipino/Pakistani from Dubai

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements