Ryan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 15/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I left my non-profit bike shop job at the end of last year after deciding I needed to get out of my home town and see more of the country, learn some new skills, and go on new adventures.

    Workaway sounds like the ideal way to travel, giving you the opportunity to stay in one place for a while, meet cool people who could use some help but also want to teach. And I want to learn! How to grow food, how to be more self-sufficient, and basically anything someone is willing to teach me.

    At my last job I came in as a complete beginner, and over the years learned to repair bicycles, manage inventory and the POS system, and coordinate our various non-profit services. I loved the work and the community I was a part of, but now it's time to learn something new. I don't yet know exactly what I want to throw myself into, so workaway seems like a great way to try some new kinds of work, and maybe find a new passion.

    Working outside is my ideal after being cooped up inside 40 hours/week for five years, but again I am willing to try anything. I'm currently living out of my car, crashing on friends couches, couchsurfing and the like, but now I'm ready to slow down and get to know a place and it's people for an extended time. I'd love to have the opportunity to work with and learn from you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a quick leaner, hard worker, and great listener. I'm very patient and easy going, get along well with others, and I'm very respectful of people and strive to meet their expectations.

    I am young, fairly fit and strong, and can do hard manual labor and don't mind getting dirty or being exposed to the elements - in fact I love being outside as much as possible.

    In my last job I became proficient as a bicycle mechanic, and though I'm not necessarily a natural at mechanical oriented work I now know I can learn whatever someone is willing to show me.

    I have a lot of attention to detail which makes me very thorough with whatever task I apply myself towards, and don't often settle for good enough unless that is what's called for.

    I enjoy writing and can translate your thoughts and ideas into a coherent message. If you happen to need blog posts etc. I could help with that.

    I love to cook (vegan) and share food with people. I'm no gourmet chef, but I typically make tasty, healthy food and would love to help out in the kitchen and learn or teach favorite recipes.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I love hiking, cycling, trail running and just playing outside in general. I love to read and learn about just about anything - I'm very curious and crave knowledge. I'm passionate about human and animal rights, protecting the environment (always seeking to lessen my impact), and community building/organizing. I'm seeking to find the best way for me to be an activist in these areas.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I have been vegan for 6 years and try not to consume any animal products.

Photos

Feedback