Rosie & Ollie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/02/2020 - 09/02/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, we are Rosie and Ollie from England. We met at university in Manchester and lived just north of London after that. We worked in engineering and technology, but had been dreaming of doing something different for a while. After visiting British Columbia on holiday, and loving it, we decided to apply for a Canadian working holiday visa. We arrived in February 2019 and hope to use Workaway to experience different places across Canada before deciding where to settle for the remaining time on our two year work permits. Both of us are sociable, practical and hardworking. We share a love for nature and outdoor activities, especially hiking. We are really looking forward to meeting new people, making a contribution, learning as much as possible and having some fun!

    We have had the pleasure of three Workaway experiences so far in Canada. For our first stay in Victoria, we helped out with gardening, babysitting and designed and built a large shelving storage unit from scratch. After this we stayed on a hobby farm in Nanaimo, where we prepared the gardens for planting, got involved with animal care and carried out some building work/repairs around the property. Having to curtail our travel plans due to the COVID-19 outbreak, we were then lucky enough to find a host on nearby Gabriola Island. Our main focus has been on designing and planting two large vegetable gardens, as well as taking care of their farm animals and hanging out with the kids.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
  • More details about your skills

    Rosie: I am an engineer, previously working in the space industry and then as a technology consultant. My last job involved building prototypes for industrial processes, which was very hands on and varied. I am very practical and good at problem solving/fixing things. At home I also enjoy making my own clothes, cooking vegetarian food and growing vegetables. I am excellent at working independently and can apply myself to whatever needs doing. I am passionate about the environment and love finding ways to reduce waste and live more sustainably.

    Ollie: In the UK, I ran my own one person company as a self-employed contractor specialising in data analytics. Previously I worked in sports data analytics and as an engineer on a large industrial site. I love sharing what I have learned with other people. I speak Spanish to an intermediate level and in my spare time I also enjoy Pilates, running and reading.

    Having worked for large companies, we have lots of transferable skills such as business and project management, as well as being good with computers/technology. As we have our own house in England, we also have lots of gardening and maintenance experience, plus what we have learned so far through Workaway.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    29 & 29

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (Rosie)

Photos

Transplanting onion seedlings
Transplanting tomatoes into the greenhouse
Ollie learning to carve ice with a chainsaw
Rosie sterilising bee box at a workaway
Finished shelving storage unit at our first workaway.
Shelf building at our first workaway in Victoria

Feedback