Ryuichi

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Laos, Malaysia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/12/2019 - 31/01/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Ryuichi and I'm from North Carolina in the U.S.. I've been in the US Navy the past 6 years and am taking some time off to travel before settling down with another job. I have volunteered in the past as an ESL instructor for Burmese immigrants in my hometown and am seeking opportunities to work with my hands while abroad.
    Workaway seemed like something right up my alley, a very cool, alternative way to experience a country while traveling.
    I enjoy hiking, taking photos, making/editing videos, and going to concerts. I got my OWD certification in Indonesia and AOWD in Koh Tao, Thailand and am always excited to go diving.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a native English speaker and also know very elementary Japanese.

    Worked as an electrician onboard a naval ship for 4 years doing electrical maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Intermediate

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    I love to swim and play ultimate frisbee.
    In the past I've made some movies which i enjoy editing and hope to continue to make videos of my travels.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Unfortunately allergic to cats.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Sagada, Philippines - sunrise hike
Chelela Pass, Bhutan
Mt. Rinjani, Lombok, Indonesia
Puppies in Bhutan!

Feedback