Robin & David

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Greece, Morocco, Tanzania, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/01/2020 - 31/12/2022

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    David and Robin are looking for their next adventure and their next Workaway experience!
    We really enjoyed our time in Tanzania, the UK, Ireland, and Morocco with our past Workaways. We are excited to once again experience new places, cultures, amazing food, and make new friends!
    In a previous life, David was a Television Marketing and Programming Executive and most recently worked with elementary school children. Robin is a Public School Teacher working with students with disabilities, she is also TEFL and ESOL certified. We have two wonderful (almost grown!) children, Samantha and Justin, and a pair of Shetland Sheepdogs. We have lived in Orlando, Florida, the land of Walt Disney World, for a very long time! We have both been involved in community service: Dave with Florida Hospital Kids Beating Cancer and Robin with the Literacy Foundation teaching adults to read. We like to read, listen to music, watch movies, go to the beach, and spend time with family, friends, and our pets. We are non-smokers, speak fluent English, and have our International Driving Permits.
    We realize some workaway opportunities may not be able to provide housing for couples - we are perfectly adaptable to separate housing for the duration of our stay!
    Dave has traveled across the USA as a part of his previous career in television, visiting 44 out of the 50 states. Worldwide, Dave and Robin have traveled (so far) to Canada, Mexico, Curacao, the Bahamas, the United Kingdom, Tanzania, Albania and Morocco.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Charity work
    Animals
    Pets
    Performing arts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Blogging
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Dave's skills include Corporate Business Marketing and Promotions, Public Relations, Team Building, Copywriting, Human Resources, and Television Program purchasing - negotiating multi-million dollar contracts for television groups. He is internet and computer savvy on multiple programs, has basic carpentry skills; hanging pictures, caulking, general maintenance and outdoor skills.
    Although Robin spent 12 years working in television, 10 years ago she made a career change to become a school teacher. She has taught children from age 3 through high school focusing on students with disabilities and cognitive skills below grade level. She is also TEFL and ESOL certified and loves conversational English. Mom's helper, cooking, cleaning, gardening, and keeping your home running smoothly.
    We are both organized, professional, tidy and don't mind house chores, outgoing, knowledgeable about current events, and adaptable to unique situations. Robin also has a pet/house sitting service that she started with their kids to teach them the value of responsibility and monetary budgeting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    59 & 60

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    We live in Orlando, Florida, the #1 vacation destination in the USA, home to Mickey Mouse at Walt Disney World, unique restaurants, cultural diversity, and beautiful beaches!
    Robin enjoys gardening, fishing, reading, sewing, and creating Shutterfly photobooks.
    Favorite superhero - Batman
    Favorite music artist - Bruce Springsteen
    Favorite food - Donuts!
    Favorite quote - "Others First" Nancy Drew
    David is an avid Beatles fan and loves music.
    Favorite song - "Let It Be"
    Favorite Book - Shout!
    Favorite quote - “There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be”
    Favorite Movie - Casablanca
    Instagram: dave.tripper

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Robin - sulfa

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Feedback