Rob

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Good morning Workaway Community,


    The pandemic has brought a great shift and with it the “great quit”.

    Me too.

    I have downsized and moved my work online. 2022 is about slow travel and maybe reclaiming some time to do other things besides business. I wish to meet interesting and inspired people doing projects with gardens, schools and community development.

    How do I support your project?

    Write content for social media
    Do business consultancy/ business plans and brainstorm entrepreneurial ventures, write business correspondence and press releases, branding
    Write, edit proofread
    Teach IELTS, TOEFL & English for Special Purposes (business), Teach the Teachers,
    Teach early learners project-based English, children’s literacy programs
    Also.... some experience mild to extreme hoarding. Can help people to organize their spaces into safe and supportive places.


    Hobbies that inspire me:

    I have a reputation among friends for my Spanish tapas, “en papillote”, couscous, pasta and risotto, Valencian & Castillian paellas, slow-cooked meats and roasted vegetables. I'm researching slow cooking and believe simple peasant food is a remedy for many modern diseases in the West. The solutions to many western health problems might be to be more delicious.

    I love designing and working in gardens. I have designed and built a dozen gardens pulling ideas from Gertrude Jykell and Goerge Russel. My ideas are toward Rain Gardens today with an absence of hardscapes (cement & lawns) and using local plants.


    Me in a nutshell

    I have been an entrepreneur all my life first working as a restauranteur with 6 restaurants and cafes. Later I provided language services for international companies such as Ford Motor Company and Merck Pharmaceutical. For the past 15 years have been teaching IELTS for universities and most recently, an online school for university students and early learners. In this project I wear many hats: teacher, teach the teachers, marketing online, content creator, creating educational programs, branding--a jumble of things. Most interesting was my creation of a third space in Hanoi, Vietnam where we brought together 800 volunteers to teach everything from science to cooking.

    I have three grown children who are surprisingly successful and when not to busy, we still manage to get together for the big holidays.

    I love designing and love problem-solving anything from garden design to business challenges. I am curious about the Fourth Industrial Revolution that we are being swept into and I am always looking for the “Zeitgeist “ which has always been my true passion and surprisingly, how I make my living.

    I am also a student of "Slow Travel" and "Slow Food". By circumstances, I am now a digital nomad of and I am reinventing my entrepreneurial projects in the digital world. I have visited 4o countries but I am afraid much too quickly. I am fixing that mistake in 2021/2022. The pandemic was a wake-up call for me and though unscathed in the past two years, priorities have changed.



    .

  • Interests

    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Blogging
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    History
    Fashion or beauty
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    cooking, teaching, animal care, gardening, painting, furniture restoration (stripping and sanding), content writing for social media, garden design, interior design

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner
    Vietnamese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    65

  • What else ...

    I am a student of slow travel and to this point have visited/worked/volunteered in 40 countries. Depending on the country, I enjoy staying in a project 1 to 3 months where I like to learn the recipes and techniques of the local cuisine. I am looking to block out the next year's route around interesting volunteer projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback