Rafael

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/11/2017 - 01/05/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    727

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am traveling in South America with the goal of learning Spanish while assisting where I can. I am a quick learner. I have been volunteering as an English teacher in Trujillo for the past two and a half months. It has been wonderful working with children and being part of a community. I am from the United States, where I worked in construction, landscaping, and as a legal assistant. While landscaping, I worked both as a laborer and as a garden designer. I can help with whatever is needed although my technical knowledge is limited. I hope to be in Peru for at least the next six months and would be willing to commit to an extended stay under the right circumstances.

    I studied political science and history for my undergraduate degree. I will be going to law school when I return to the States, with the hope of working as an immigration lawyer.

    In the past, I have traveled solely as a tourist; experiencing countries and cultures as an outsider. That being said, the things that I most remember and most value are the personal relationships that I have made. On this trip, I feel the need to live in a community and to help where, and how I can. I love hearing peoples stories and participating in different ways of living. I feel strongly that as a traveler, and as a volunteer, my role is to listen and to learn, while sharing my experiences. I am eager to learn new skills and to share what I have learned.

    I enjoy a good adventure, hiking, and good conversation. I am an easy going guy, who enjoys new experiences.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Construction, landscaping, farming, teaching, musician... I am also a quick learner!

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French, and learning Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Profile is connected to:

Ihkokgini


Feedback