Roland

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Oman, Tanzania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 01/05/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I've been helping people through workaway for the last 3 years; meeting loads of interesting people and experiencing different lifestyles.
    Before that I lived onboard my sailing boat for 2 years,before helping friends fix up their house in France, completing the Camino de Santiago (Jacobin) and discovering the joy of workaway.

    I worked in the computer systems or IT industry most of my life, mainly in Product Marketing and Project Management. So I have some idea about how to distinguish products, target customers and write sales material.

    For most of my life I have sought new ideas and ways of doing things by exposing myself to different ways of thinking & activities. For example, by practicing martial arts, (Aikido / Kendo / Tai Chi,) learning Vipassana meditation, getting the Reiki Stage1 certificate or learning Shiatsu. As a dinghy sailing instructor I enjoyed teaching Scouts safe boating skills, and to cherish and take pleasure from the outdoors. [That also means I have 'passed' the NSW Police Working with Children check.]

    I have been fortunate to live (>1 year) in 12 countries and to visit many more. I am British / Australian, my daughter is French and one sister is English the other Italian: so that makes me a modern European.

    My motivation comes from doing a job well for people who appreciate it. I would like to meet other open minded people who enjoy exploring new concepts whilst dealing effectively with reality.
    Without time commitments I can stay where I am needed for as long as the job takes or visa permits.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    These are some of the things I have done so far and would be pleased to do for you:
    * chopping trees with axe or chainsaw / sawing & splitting wood
    * digging / slashing / cutting vegetation and hedge trimming
    * fixing / rebuilding dry stone walls
    * rendering walls
    * repointing brick or stonework / laying concrete or mud
    * painting
    * carpentry
    * electrical wiring
    * simple engine maintenance
    * driving tractors & trailers
    * digging ditches & building dykes
    * giving / teaching courses
    as well as solving problems, planning work and all the things one has to do in a career environment for people who don't really care
    I'm told I can take a fair photo and write a variety of different texts in English. [Oxford Universtity Use of English.] It would give me pleasure to put them together for you, if needed.
    I also like learning to do whatever needs to be done.

    You really wouldn't want me to do any cooking or meal planning, though my washing up skills are often appreciated!

  • Languages spoken

    franglais and understand a little italian

  • Age

    66

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gratitudarian

Photos

Feedback