Rokas

  • Lithuania
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey, I'm Rokas!

    I'm 21 years old and I live in Lithuania, but I've spent most of my life in the United States. I first traveled with Workaway when I was 18, spending about half a year volunteering on farms, an animal shelter, and a hostel in Tunisia, Panama, and the western United States. Getting to experience such a variety of ways of life and points of view was some of the most fun I've had in my life, and those memories are what's got me eager to work abroad once again. I'm hoping to stay in France and French-speaking Belgium this time around, where I'd like to immerse myself in French culture and history in the hands-on style of Workaway. I picked up the basics of French conversation when I worked in Tunisia and have been studying on-and-off during my winter lockdown, so I'm looking forward to the chance to practice the language too.

    Alongside traveling, I love to be outside (by the sea especially!) and around animals, and I think that's why I've enjoyed my farmstay experiences so much. I grew up in big cities, so any chance I get to hike, swim, or just go for a walk in the outdoors is a real joy to me. But as much as I love farmwork, I'm always looking for opportunities to become more handy when it comes to looking after a home as well. Besides that, I like spending my free time reading novels, improving my drawing, and listening to plenty of music (The Beatles, David Bowie, and Prince are my favorites).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I've had a chance to help on a variety of farms through Workaway, so I'm familiar with a range of garden work. This include tasks like tilling soil, installing fencing, clearing brush, chopping wood, and the like. And just this summer, I helped to establish a garden at my mom's house too, working a lot with digging ditches, planting saplings, and installing sprinklers. I've also experienced what goes into looking after animals, whether it's feeding, grooming, or cleaning up after them, and I've even gotten to help wrangle runaway horses and cows. I'm really comfortable around dogs especially, and I love making sure they're happy and well looked-after.

    I've also helped take care of rental properties and Airbnb listings, so I'm experienced with cleaning homes as well as minor restoration work, like plastering and furniture staining. Moreover, I worked a number of odd jobs throughout high school and college, from painting houses and hauling furniture to clearing tables at a restaurant and serving coffee at a cafe, so I feel I'm quick to adapt and no stranger to getting my hands dirty.

    All in all, while I'm not an expert in a particular field, I'm not afraid of hard work and am eager to pick up more do-it-yourself knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Lithuanian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Dual citizenship with Lithuania and the United States

  • What else ...

    I've been vaccinated against COVID and have an EU Digital COVID Certificate.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback