Rita & Viriato

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2019 - 01/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    RITA:
    I’m a biologist and nature lover. I'm energetic, happy and hard-worker. I want to live in a less material way, connecting to both nature and people. I have travelled a bit through Europe, Africa and Asia, doing different volunteering projects and getting inspired by each encounter. I'm looking forward to work in eco-comunities, farms, art projects, nature-related places and to dive in permaculture, bioconstruction and sustainable life-styles, while meeting inspiring people.

    Volunteering projects:
    2004-2010 - Support to homeless people in Lisbon
    2013 - Hipotherapy with disabled children in Lisbon
    Summer 2013 - Wildlife protection, environmental awareness and farming in Kuterevo Bear Refuge (Croatia)
    2015 - School support for children living in problematic neighborhoods in Lisbon
    Summer 2015 - Volunteer in SOS villages with orphan children in Cape Verde (Santiago Island)
    October - November 2015 - Horse riding guide and hipotherapy at Tiffany's Riding Centre (Lagos, Portugal)
    December - February 2016 - Childcare (Weinfelden, Switzerland)
    March - Abril 2016 - Building restoration and creation of Holistic Life Centre (Berlin, Germany)
    April - September 2016 - Working in a School in a remote village (Nala, Nepal)
    January - September 2018 - Supervisor of a volunteer group of young people in the ONGD GASTagus (Lisbon, Portugal)

    VIRIATO
    I’m the second of 4 siblings, I was a scout for 16 years and that’s basically how I started to volunteer and to get in touch with charity work.
    I have a degree in architecture but I haven’t worked as an architect so far. Instead I chose to travel, volunteer in different projects and work in different areas to learn the most. I don’t think I have a job that defines me, but the things I dedicated more time to in the last years were both adventure sports and helping in the refugee crisis.
    Right now, I’m traveling together with Rita and there are many things we seek to experience. I’m personally focused on learning as much as possible about permaculture, agroforests, sintropic agriculture and bio-construction in order to apply this knowledge in my home country in a place where I wish to live in the future. Apart from this I’m always looking for chances of rock climbing or doing other sports and exploring nature.

    Volunteering projects:
    Scouts (2000-2016)
    Equipa d’Africa - NGO for development missions in Africa and Portugal (2015/2016)
    Refugee Support Platform - NGO giving support in refugee camps in Greece (2016)
    Jugend Rettet - NGO for rescue of migrants attempting to cross the Mediterranean (February 2017)
    Sea-watch - NGO for rescue of migrants attempting to cross the Mediterranean (March- July 2017)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    RITA:
    Any biology-related thing, gardening (and really interested in learning more), computer skills, cooking, crafts, painting, etc.

    VIRIATO:
    Adventure sports, child care, crafts and building, hard-work, cooking.

    Most of all, we are really motivated to learn new things and to dive into new adventures.

  • Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, Spanish

  • Age

    29 & 25

  • Nationality

    Portuguese

  • What else ...

    We value our privacy and would prefer to have a private room whenever possible but we are open to share space if needed.
    We believe in the core principles of workaway, so we expect to have food provided by the host.
    We are very adaptable to live in different cultures and environments and we’re eager to learn as much as we can from all life experiences.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

One of the things I enjoy the most is to play, dance and flow in the water...
... another is to climb and do outdoor activities!
Planting and taking care of an agroforest in Brasil.
Helping the small artists painting a wall for their community.
After painting a wall in a impoverished community in Africa. "Alone, I go faster. Together, we go further."
Playing with the kids from the community in Cabo Verde.
Doing interactive exercises with the kids in Nepal.
Taking care and building friendships with the horses from a ecofarm in Portugal.

Feedback