Rising

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Canada, Finland, Netherlands, Samoa, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2018 - 31/12/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1211

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    My name is Rising and I am a slow-traveler and itinerant at heart who is happiest in the woods and mountains, by moving water, and under the sunlight. I have beentraveli ng year round as a digital nomad for about 6 years now, working remotely as a copy editor and assistant, handling and running sled dogs in the winters, and often spending summers in the tropics. Through numerous work trades I have had the pleasure of expanding my skills, exploring new areas of interest and growing my network of beloved connections with new friends far and wide.

    I am someone who deeply appreciates and reveres wildlife and the natural world. I love to be outdoors, work with my hands, learn all manner of useful and artistic things, and broaden my general knowledge. Music (listening, playing and singing), yoga and acroyoga, self-care and personal investment, holistic health, genuine human connection and affection are at the core of my vision for a fulfilled life.

    My current interests I’m looking to pursue include general survival and wilderness skills, general manual skills and building, knot tying, hoisting & rigging, tree work, tile & brick laying, mosaics and stained glass, singing and playing music, acroyoga and general acrobatics, and anything related to mustelids. I have experience with some hand and power tools but would really like to learn to properly operate a chainsaw and continue learning the uses and methods of just about all hand tools and power tools. If you will teach, I will learn!

    I value clear communication, emotional fluency, openness with people from all walks of life, and a mindful lifestyle that fosters increasing connection with my self, others, and the natural world. I am a hopeless romantic for variety in life and will always try something new given the chance.

    I have lived in many places and done many Workaways, almost all wonderful experiences. I have spent three seasons working with sled dogs—first in Alaska as a yard hand, then in Minnesota as a tour guide, and then in the Yukon & AK as a handler for an Iditarod racer. In the coming seasons I hope to run mid-distance races with the right kennel.

    For recreation and pleasure I love singing and making music, walking, hiking, mountain & road biking, hot springs, rivers, rock climbing, acroyoga, snowsports, being with dogs, board games and puzzles, making fires, cooking, baking and organizing.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I am a responsible, reliable and considerate person who values clear communication and transparency, so I'm easy to work with and live with. I can listen well and follow specific directions, or work within broader parameters if need be. I can think critically to accomplish tasks and observe when things need to be done.

    I'm a quick learner and love working with both my hands and mind. While I can work very efficiently, I also value quality and generally prefer to do things right rather than just get them done quickly. I'm very neat, clean and organized and always try to leave things better than I found them. My temperament is quite mellow and easygoing.

    I am highly trustworthy, can provide excellent detail-oriented care, and can handle a high level of responsibility in a variety of settings. I spent 4 years running a professional pet care service, providing hundreds of walks and hikes, overnight pet sitting, pet boarding and house sitting for dozens of clients.

    More specific skills:
    -I can run manual and automatic ATV including backing up with loaded trailer
    -I am a licensed driver with perfect record, can drive manual, and can drive in winter conditions including trucks
    -I can run a snowblower, snowmachine, pressure washer, log splitter, and split wood by hand
    -I can efficiently manage woodburning in an outdoor wood boiler and indoor wood stove
    -I have cared for all manner of farm animals including llamas & alpacas, sheep, horses, pigs and newborn piglets, ducks/geese/chickens, rabbits, dogs and cats; I have also helped care for many gardens and food plants
    -I have great organizational skills—I have worked as a professional home organizer and understand how to arrange a space for efficiency, functionality and aesthetic appeal whether in the home, garage, shed or shop
    -I have directed real estate staging, estate sales, decluttering and moving processes
    -I have highly professional customer relations skills having worked several years as an airbnb vacation rental management assistant, communicating directly with guests to resolve issues and ensure quality experience
    -I have skills in writing, copy editing, most computer operating systems, Wordpress website design, WP Bakery front/backend and WP UX Builder, aWeber and FloDesk email campaign services
    -I am proficient in Spanish speaking and writing, basic listening and speaking in Thai
    -I have completed two 30-hour AcroYoga Immersion trainings and can teach yoga & acroyoga fundamentals

    Dog skills:
    -I can safely run a 9-10 dog team and have experience running educational winter dog sled tours in a highly professional setting, guiding passengers up to 250 lbs. on rides through dense, curvy and hilly woods
    -I have experience teaching proper interaction and handling of sled dogs, assessing dog body language and communication, training fundamentals, sled safety, trail safety and emergency protocol
    -I can teach kennel guests/volunteers how to run their very first team in a safe and controlled manner
    -I have worked as a handler for an Iditarod musher and managed the responsibilities of driving 3/4 ton dog truck, retrieving and caring for drop dogs, handling at race starts, helping with general preparations and packing drop bags, training runs, making necklines, administering medications, sorting and organizing gear, etc.
    -With experience at 4 kennels over 3 years, I can cook, feed, clean and watch after a kennel of 30+ dogs including properly assessing dog weight and hydration, general kennel maintenance, chopping meat, snow removal, etc.
    -I can adhere to strict training protocols if needed and can continue applying a musher's dog & puppy training methods in their absence; I understand the importance of training, protocol and safety

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Thai: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Quiero practicar mi español. Empecé a estudiar español en kínder y continué hasta la universidad.

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I work online part-time so I usually try to find Workaways with internet access. It is important to me to have the space to stretch out and do my daily yoga where I will not be impeding on others’ space. (I also love to practice partner yoga and acroyoga, and can teach!)

    I'm really interested right now in learning about knots, rigging and operating a chainsaw. I also love ceramics and would appreciate the chance to get back into hand building.

    I am a singer and also play the piano. I absolutely love to sing and make music with just about anyone. I also enjoy games of all types (especially board games) and always love learning new ones—I think they're a great way to spend time with people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (eggs, milk, butter, cheese ok)

Photos

Feedback