Sabine & Richard

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/04/2019 - 27/05/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    After 20 odd years raising four children, we decided in 2016 it was time for a change of emphasis in our lives. We gave up our full-time jobs to work on renovating our old house and travelling whilst working part-time.
    We both previously had jobs which involved a lot of travel and experiencing different cultures, but now we want to really understand other cultures and different points of view.
    We both like a simple life, and try to meditate and enjoy our time whilst respecting our planet. We have four adult children who all love to travel and from whom we learn so much. We have a lot of knowledge and experience which we are happy to exchange with others.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are both very good interacting with people and animals. Richard is very practical with things like basic woodworking and simple construction. Sabine is a qualified Engineer but also very practical and can turn her hand to almost every task. She is also a dab hand at gardening! But our real love is breaking down barriers and making a difference.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Age

    56 & 53

  • Nationality

    British, German

  • What else ...

    Both of us have done volunteering work in various roles over the last 20 years. In 2016, in addition to Workaway, we have volunteered at two music festivals in the UK in a stewarding role, and at the Oxfam Trailwalker festival- an endurance fundraising event in support of the Ghurka Welfare Trust. We are registered Oxfam volunteers.
    In 2017 we volunteered again for Oxfam (Including Glastonbury!), and in 2018 we enjoyed more Workaway projects in Crete, along with volunteering for various organisations.
    For 2019 we are looking to travel to southern Spain for the whole of May, to discover some of this fascinating region, hopefully we can find some Workaway possibilities along the way!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback