Ricardo & Marta

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/01/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello :D
    We are Marta and Ricardo, we are two people who recently have chosen to wander around the world for a while, Marta is from Spain and Ricardo from Chile. We are both doctors. We decided to quit our jobs in January 2019 in search of a different experience and a different way of life!
    We are a couple of young doctors, Marta is a gynecologist and Ricardo is a head and neck surgeon, and, in the last six years, we have been living in Barcelona, Spain.
    Our plan is to travel through southeast Asia for 6 months and not plan yet for the next 6 months!
    We are trying on this year to learn a little bit of French too, read books we never have time to read back home, practice some yoga, meditate and learn how to play ukelele! So quite work to do :P
    We found about Workaway opportunities from a friend we met in Chiang Mai, Thailand. She told us wonders about the people and the amazing places she discovered while volunteering through this process. Those were exactly the kind of experiences we were looking for: meeting interesting people and try to learn as much as we can, about the different ways of life which people decided to live.

    Thank you in advance and kindest regards,
    Marta Torras and Ricardo Bartel.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We really enjoy cooking, we are used to cooking a lot of different meals from many places in the world.
    We are friendly people, fluent in English and Spanish, so we can socialize very efficiently with both languages.
    Also, we consider we can do nearly any kind of manual work with a few instructions beforehand. Marta used to live in the countryside so she is very used to gardening.
    We are very hard working people too, as we used to work a lot of hours back home. We don’t mind having a fixed schedule.
    We love animals as well, we have two dogs that are nowadays living with our parents.
    We both use to meditate and Marta practice yoga back home.
    We are really doing this work because of the experiences it offers, the good times and the new interesting people we can share some time with.
    We also like photography and video editing.

  • Languages spoken

    We speak Spanish, English and Catalan, we are starting to learn French.

  • Age

    32 & 31

  • Nationality

    España

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Marta is allergic to dust and cats

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback