Renae

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Panama, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/10/2019 - 10/06/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am living on Big Island, Hawaii on sustainable farms and homesteads to see permaculture principles in practice, in hopes of buying land and building my own "food forest" at some point soon. I'm very hard-working, easy to get along with and eager for new learning experiences. Things that I love and have been practicing for years include yoga, surfing, skateboarding, mushroom cultivation, cooking, ayurveda, permaculture and Spanish as a second language. I have been working on organic produce and hemp farms for 3 years. I previously worked in a corporate setting at an electric utility company for 18-years as a Project Coordinator and Power Grid Dispatcher. Now, I'm on to my second "chapter" of sustainable farming and building/participating in intentional communities that strive to be self-sufficient and coexist with nature.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    General Farm Labor:
    Planting, irrigating, cultivating, pruning, harvesting, cloning, soil building

    General Labor:
    Painting, landscaping, refinishing wood, demo, fencing, light concrete work

    Project Management:
    Organizing, coordinating events, writing

    General:
    Cooking, cleaning, gardening, childcare, bar and food service

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    39

  • What else ...

    Plenty of references available upon request, I am just new to the Workaway platform this year. Thanks!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No. I primarily eat vegan and Ayurvedic diet, but not strict. Sustainable meats and fish in social settings.

Photos

Feedback