Becky & Steve

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there!
    We're Becky and Steve and we live in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Our life's intention is to connect more deeply to ourselves, each other and the world around us through seeking out new perspectives and being present wherever we find ourselves. We felt an itch to travel after living in South Korea for a year, and have since been all around the USA and, more recently, around Central and South America. As we continue on our journey and find new destinations, we want go with our guts, chase after magic and hopefully find more of what set our hearts on fire! We are particularly interested in permaculture, medicinal plants, and sustainable living in general.

    More about Becky:
    My passions center around creating, like coming up with plant-based dishes, photography, painting, dancing...
    I also feel excited about the idea of helping others (who are seeking) become more empowered and deeply connected to themselves. I have put a lot of energy into learning about different healing modalities, and figuring out how the human mind and body works so that one day I can help people on a grander scale than I currently am.
    As far as formal education/experience, I have a diploma in Culinary Arts and 5 years of experience running a photography business. I have also finished 1 year majoring in Philosophy at University, and 1 year in a Community and Justice Services program.

    More about Steve:
    I love to go on adventures and get my adrenaline pumping (especially outdoors and in nature), but I also love to sit in a hammock reading a great book. Learning new things and having new experiences is what I'm constantly striving for; currently, I'm learning Spanish, honing my guitar skills, and becoming more experienced with my yoga practice. I also really enjoy socializing and meeting new people that can show me new ways of doing and seeing things.
    Formally, I have a Bachelor of Arts degree as well as a Recreational Therapy diploma. With this education, I've been able to gain experience teaching English, and was most recently involved in a "Day Program" where I mainly work with adults with different abilities like Autism.
    The biggest reason I'm wanting more workaway experiences is because I'm looking for a change from Western society and the overconsumption of things people don't need. I hope to find like-minded people who are doing what they love while living simply.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Becky's skills:
    - extensive experience in customer service
    - photography (and other art mediums)...I have my professional equipment with me if you’re in need of photos for your website, social media, etc
    - culinary experience in school, work and daily life

    Steve's skills:
    - good at managing time well
    - some gardening/yard maintenance experience
    - working with many different kinds of people of all ages

    We both have skills in:
    - cleaning hotel rooms
    - being adaptable
    - great communication
    - problem-solving and critical thinking
    - learning quickly and efficiently
    - working with kids through summer camps as well as family

  • Languages spoken

    English: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    30 & 33

  • What else ...

    We love to jam out and create music! We both enjoy playing a lot of different instruments, but Becky especially loves to sing and play percussion while Steve loves to play guitar and piano.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats living in close proximity to where we sleep, excessive dust

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both plant-based and would ideally eat no animal products but we are happy being more vegetarian if that works best

Photos

Feedback