Zen C

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2017 - 31/01/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    45

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I put off my wanderlust for far to long - and am trying to get some more in-depth experience with "everything" while re-focusing on my own work (and taking a few photographs of people and places, do some bike-riding).
    My longterm plan is to experience a few specific countries over the next years from a non-touristy but living-there point of view, acquire new skills, learn proper Japanese and then perhaps stop there for a bit.

    In the previous years I loved working amongst other things on a dairy farm and with a cartwright for months on end respectively - which is an awesome balance with the primary work I'm doing on a few projects in Germany, Ireland and South Africa (for now).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My preferred work at the moment would be working with horses and dogs, out in the field, in a workshop or behind an espresso maker (or something entirely different) - but am not too set on anything.

    I have close to 15 years of extensive experience in most things related to design and software engineering, as well as some photography (both digital and traditional). Contrary to that I really enjoy physical labor and getting my hands dirty. Usually I'm a fairly quick study, hard worker and especially love acquiring and honing skills and helping out in general.

    I also worked at an animal shelter, wood workshop, dairy farm, with horses, farm hand and as a barista trainee. I'd say I'm good with animals and aiming to handle any challenge presented with in most areas with a preference for deep diving rather than just glancing things over. …I can also cook a little.

    The one thing I actively avoid is overly repetitive, monotonous work (like on an assembly line - but - mundane tasks like "cleaning the same espresso machine every single day for half an hour to perfection" are quite welcome).

  • Languages spoken

    English & German (bilingual), French (some), Japanese (learning)

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Although still fresh, I have a European / international drivers license and some experience with tractors.

    As I am generally happy with my job and have clients / projects and people to tend to / support - I require a few hours (3-6) every day to work on my notebook with some proper internet access. Since I prefer getting up early in the morning and am flexible with these hours, this should not a big problem though. …and no worries, I don't text or social-media-anything. That said, I seem to be much happier with working on a farm, with animals or my hands and living in a rural setting, my life's goal would to somehow do both.

    Also having spent several years in a boarding school - I've gotten to be a big fan of (simple) private sleeping quarters, but don't need anything fancy.
    Since this might matter to some: I am a buddhist and have long hair, but am very respective of customs and religions and try to always keep an open mind and positive outlook (all of these things more than most people).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      cigarette smoke, fabric softener, some perfumes

    • Special dietary requirements
      nope

Photos

herding sheep
terrible urban business setting
building a traditional horse carriage
she dared me over breakfast to take a terribly useless picture

Feedback