Portia

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/10/2020 - 16/01/2022

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    I am a traveler, who has a thirst for adventure, new experiences, and becoming knowledgable in as many ways as possible. Originally, I am from Illinois, yet my family and I moved to Maine when I was young, which I believe was my introduction to the passion I hold for creating and discovering. Seeing that I was granted a playground of both forest and ocean, I am seeking more mastery in creating a future of sustainability. I find value in giving hard work and acquiring new skills through that, and on the other side of things, I am connected spiritually through a daily dose of yoga flow to reground myself. Being in a place that allows me to have moments with nature, to truly appreciate all that it has to provide us with, whether that be through working directly with the soil or just doing physical labor in the outdoors!
    I am most interested in becoming part of family life or community life where we have the ability to bond and to grow from each other, through our experiences. :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Throughout the past years, I have worked in and around customer service. I was fortunate enough to obtain the position of an ice cream scooper at our local shop for 3 years, and through this experience I found, that I had begun growing in my ability to communicate with a wide variety of people! It may seem like a simple job; however, there is not enough space to enumerate all of the obstacles that were held in this position. Simply, I was able to confidently roll with the punches, whether it was the dishwasher breaking, a customer complaining that our chocolate sprinkles didn't taste like chocolate, or even down to implementing a plan to keep us and our customers safe during a worldwide pandemic.

    Besides just being an ice cream scooper, I spent three months of last year, working alongside the owners of a small boutique/hotel and gaining knowledge in many aspects of this business. They have taken a desert landscape and created lush vegetation, that consists of intricate systems of drip irrigation. Often times I will be asked to repair or replace broken lines, cut new trinkle pipes that will regulate the amount of water given to each plant, and stay on top of which water lines need to be turned on, versus those that have an automatic timer attached.

    From a young age, my dad and I have been creating garage gadgets, that always left me oohing and ahhing. For many reasons, but primarily because I was utterly amazed that he could create so much from what I thought of as nothing. Now I apply those same creative juices to many projects I have worked on at the boutique, while also building a skill set for simple power tool usage. With all of that, we have worked on projects such as replacing a roof structure in one of the guest rooms, creating an outdoor shower using pallets and other manageable materials, forming a wind block wall using clean plastic, to keep plastic out of the landfills, while also insulating from potential drifts.

    As a new seeker of gardening and farming, I have been practicing a technique known as Hugelkultur, which is a way to use old tree stocks and clippings to form a raised garden bed. The idea is to use that mound of biomass to build a nutrient-rich plot that is suitable for herbs or smaller vegetable gardens. So far we have been successful with growing rosemary, green onions, and more green onions!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    I enjoy the company of the great outdoors, whether that be hiking, cycling, practicing some yoga, swaying in a hammock with a good book.. or just about anything. Often times I do some form of yoga in the morning to center my balance before I take on my day. I also find that actively reading is another way I am able to find balance and calmness in my life. One of my favorite hobbies when traveling to an unknown or known region is eating! I believe that food has a way of giving you insight about the culture you surround yourself with, it is also a unique way to connect with people. I am just looking for a new way of living, a way that transforms the ideas that I hold of the future, to hopefully bring me to the person I want to become. Curiosity and adventure are two words that have guided me to this point in my life, and I want nothing more than to bring forth those traits to each place I go.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian with a hint of meat

Photos

Feedback