Daniel & Maria

From: Malta

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Egypt, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/10/2016 - 31/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    708

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Photographer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi all,
    We are a Maltese couple who back in 2016 decided to take some time off to travel and explore new things in life. It was supposed to be a one year break but it turned out to be a new way of life for us. Through Workaway we were able to meet and build relationships with so many different people. We had experiences that we could never have imagined in our wildest dreams. We built sheds from cow poo in the Sahara Desert in Morocco with a Berber family, we worked on a farm in New Zealand, lived in a Buddhist monastery in Thailand, and learned a thing or two about hospitality from people who have been in the tourism industry for years.

    We want to live and explore different cultures and traditions and most of all build connections with people. We left home wanting to travel and see new places, we still want to do that but now we mostly want to experience the journey. We don't mind being at the same place for longer periods of time and we are not particularly interested in seeing all the landmarks a country has to offer. We are both ready to learn new skills, widen our horizons and fully immerse ourselves in the projects we get the opportunity to be part of.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I (Maria) graduated in Banking & Finance from the University of Malta and in 2015 I finished my masters in accountancy. I worked in an office for around 6 years, hence I am able to handle any office or administration related work. I am a fast learner and not afraid to get my hands dirty. Most of all, I enjoy taking responsibility and owning a project.

    Daniel graduated from the University of London in Information Systems & Management and has vast experience working in Information and Communication Technology and online marketing related work. Building a website and photography are projects he would very much enjoy helping with. Apart from his technical abilities, he is an extremely gentle natured person who can literally work with every person on earth!! A rational decision maker with a positive can do attitude which make him an excellent team player.

    We both have substantial experience in hospitality both in Malta and internationally. We worked in bars, restaurants, hostels, hotels campsites and b&b, in a wide variety of roles ranging from housekeeping / all rounder to manager. Since we started travelling and working on the road, we found that working with guests is something we truly enjoy and which fits our lifestyle best. We love meeting people from different backgrounds and cultures, be part of their holiday and hopefully help in creating beautiful memories for them. We were lucky enough on our journey so far to have had the opportunity to do some really great seasonal jobs which we truly enjoyed.

  • Languages spoken

    Maltese, English & Italian

  • Age

    37 & 31

  • Nationality

    Maltese

  • What else ...

    We are both interested in learning new skills especially related to sustainable development, tourism, gardening and cooking. We mostly enjoy the simple things in life (nature, trekking, beaches, camping, music, making real connections with people...) and this is a huge part of why we decided to change our lives and do more of what makes us really happy.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback