Florence

  • Sweden
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Sweden
    View all
  • Description

    Hej !

    Pippi Långstrump helped me when I was a kid to become who I am today: Florence, that happy girl and freedom-freak with the Midsommarkrans :)
    I am French, born and lived many years in Paris, then left for Hamburg, married, build a “patchwork” family and read so many times "Nils Holgerssons underbara resa genom Sverige" to my younger son, that at the end I had to see that country where the wild geese came from...
    First Stockholm and the Archipelago in spring, then Moskojärvi and Storforsen in winter. Many trips followed until today, but these marked the beginning of my attachment to Sweden.

    Three years ago, after a fulfilled family life with three grown-up children and extensive travel, I decided to focus on Scandinavia - mostly on my own. Why? Because what I value so much, especially in Sweden, are first the preserved nature - the colours of an icy sky, the rounded-granite rocks on the coast, the moss and berries carpet in the fairy-tale forests - and then this specific unsaid "rule": each individual has to be autonomous and responsible for himself but at the same time is a part of a whole within a community.

    Though preparing the steps for the next chapter, moving up here and settling in, meant first learning to share and understand the Northern way(s) of living and thinking.
    And the best approach seemed to me a combination of working as a volunteer on one side – anywhere but preferably by a family - and on the other side, crisscrossing the country during the time in-between, with buses and trains. At the end, it gave me the chance to discover the Swedish nature and culture and above all, to come together with so many, different people.

    I started volunteering in June 2018 in a Café-B&B by the forests of Hofors (cooking, serving, cleaning) – my first Midsommar - followed by a second trial in October as home- & catsitter in Sthlm – culture bath! Then I discovered Workaway and shared a wonderful fortnight in November with a family near Östersund (#886194311453/ cooking, helping in house and yard) – magical Jämtland.
    In 2019, I went up North in February to partake in the annual Sami Marknad and had the chance to share afterwards two weeks long the family life of a spontaneous host near Jokkmokk (#524136364311 /cooking, tidying, cleaning) – will never forget the sound of ice breaking under the Northern Lights. In June I hit the road again to explore mid-Sweden from the west to east coast, lived with a hearty family in the countryside near Karlsborg (#756349465496 /cooking, helping with kids, yard and chickens) – happy Sveriges nationaldag in the fortress - and finalize the journey in a village near Söderhamn, working a fortnight with a cheerful couple in a B&B (#484956189754 / gardening, cooking, caring of guests rooms) – learnt the Swedish way to eat kräftor :)

    The many months spent crossing Sweden during these two years was a once-in-a-lifetime chance to experience a country through the eyes and the heart of its inhabitants … underbara resa genom Sverige.

    In January 2020, I settled in Varberg, Halland - the only landskap where Nils Holgersson never was!
    So, as for now, the next step is to find a work near where I live and to speak fluently Swedish. But I will for sure keep traveling with WA , in Sweden or Norway, during my holidays.

    As a resume, I hope to be a tolerant person, interested in others, straight & humorous, not afraid of working hard, with a solid sense of organisation and responsibilities. I need nature, freedom, adventure and time to be alone. But I am a sociable person and a happy nature, who likes life and laughing, cooking, meeting friends or new people, sharing a good meal or a nice moment. And rather than fitness, I prefer outdoor activities like hiking, climbing, cross-country skiing, canoeing, and ... ice-hockey-watching :)
    Oh yes, one last thing. My birth date is like a mathematics mistake… It has nothing to do with me. But of course, you’re not supposed to believe it… That’s why we should meet!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Adventure sports
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Languages
    Art & design
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I like cooking (my French side), I learnt cleaning & keeping tidy ( my German side). Patient and careful, especially with kids and the elderly. Sense of organisation and responsibilities. Hard working and used to finish what I started. Eye for details and what needs to be done. Easy socializing (but you won't find me on Facebook), customer-oriented and caring of the guests , computer & internet help, language teaching, gardening, sewing. drawing, writing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    65

  • Nationality

    French (native) /German (acquired)

  • What else ...

    If there's anything you'd like to know, please feel free to ask, I'll be happy to answer the best I can!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback