Paolo

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Italy - from Oct 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hey! I grew up outside of New York City before heading off to university. My mother is Italian-American (hence my name) and my father is an immigrant from Ireland, we used to travel every year, I think getting me prepared for a life of bouncing around.

    After university, I worked as a digital political strategist for three years, through COVID. Feeling stifled and wanting to see more, what else this world and people had to offer, I quit everything to backpack the world back in January.

    Every day since then has justified my actions, I've had just incredible experiences and seen wondrous sights. But consistently, the best part has been the people I've met along the way.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    My current job is that of a political digital strategist, which gives me experience in; digital audience building, social advertising, and Excel. I have a degree in business and political science. I have some experience using website building templates and iMovie. I also can be a good and fast writer.

    Outside of my career, I worked for many years as an adventure camp counselor, going on long hikes and swims with campers aged 8-14. I very much enjoy cooking too and games of all time (pretty good at chess, and good luck beating me at Scrabble.)

    I have spent a good bit of my life traveling, I visited Ireland where my family is from, for almost every year of my childhood. When I was 19/20, I spent two summers in Dublin playing baseball for the Irish National Team.

    I traveled around Europe for a summer while studying abroad in Luxembourg. I joined a baseball team there as well and volunteered at a community horse stables that worked with handicapped people to pair them with wildlife excursions.

    I also studied for a summer in Costa Rica, I am very comfortable with host families, have never had a bad experience with one, and would be happy to use them as references! I had a modest understanding of Spanish at that point, but that has sadly diminished the past couple of years.

    I lived for a summer in college and volunteered at a local food shelter in my spare time, working with the homeless in my neighborhood as both client-facing and in the back warehouse.

    I've spent a lot of time around animals in my life, both love and respect them, would be very interested in continuing to work with them.

    When outdoors, I'm happiest hiking, fishing, hammocking, and camping

    Honestly my most universal skill is I'm a very enthusiastic and earnest worker. I enjoy manual labor, and seeing a finished result that I helped create. I have many references I could provide attesting to this.

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, love trying new local meals, hard to scare

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback