Paige

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/07/2020 - 07/07/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    372

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm French-American woman, with a deep craving for the wild (after three years in the city). I like to stay in places for longer periods of times and truly get to know people and places- and make deep friendships, take the time to learn something new.

    I grew up in many different places (France, Togo, Tahiti, Ireland) as a result of having parents in the military, and I am now on a mission to find my future and permanent home/nest/community, in France, very likely near the Pyrenees.
    I fell in love with the idea of urban agriculture and sustainable building, namely techniques like hydroponics, aquaponics and mushroom cultivation, especially because I feel our cities need radical reimagining- and bringing farming back into to urban lives is a good way to jumpstart the process. (A few years ago I compiled a small portfolio of skills and projects I've explored, if that is interesting you can view it here: http://chooseyourweapon.wixsite.com/chooseyourweapon).
    Now this interest is developing into a reflection on the materials in our lives. How do we transition away from plastics and move towards more living materials?
    I am just leaving 3 years in London, where I was working on a community-driven urban regeneration project in East London with a social enterprise called Civic (see civic.co). There I led the meanwhile redevelopment of 7 high street shops and a large piece of land into a community garden, a community kitchen a makerspace etc.. I also did a residency at at Greenlab, an agritech workspace in London where I explored the feasibility of growing medicinal mushrooms (cordyceps) on brewery waste; and I am now a resident at Open Cell, a biotech space, where I interview the artists and researchers exploring biodesign (eg biomaterials, living architecture, etc) .
    I have a partner, Anton - A Russian/Latvian vegetarian chef and forager who teaches me a lot about those things, and who will be moving with me to France.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm just leaving 3 years in London doing mainly full time project management for a neighbourhood community project.
    However, in parallel, I have worked at various farms and learned many different methods of urban agriculture including aquaponics, hydroponics, aeroponics, permaculture, and mushroom cultivation. I'd be thrilled to share what I have learned - exchange knowledge !

    I have also worked on various construction sites, mainly in the natural building methods: earthship, cob, bamboo, and just a tiny bit of carpentry.

    Other skills: I have also worked quite a while as a waitress in a wine bar, pubs and bakeries so I have reasonable hospitality skills. I have done quite a bit of tutoring, and babysitting and am quite computer literate and can also dabble with mapping softwares, making websites, helping with marketing.
    My partner, as mentioned, is a vegetarian chef and forager so I am constantly learning about the abundance of food in various landscapes, as well as different preservation techniques and ways to cook nature's bounty.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English and conversational spanish

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    French/American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback