Pedro

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2018 - 01/10/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    238

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!

    My main areas of expertise and which I can be of most help with are in carpentry and general DIY projects. I have quite a bit of knowledge to offer as related to construction in general (including plumbing, electricity and renewable energy). I have 20 years working experience. I've build my own wooden attic house extension and two restaurants in the past.

    I currently have a workshop in Tarifa, Cádiz, and design and make wood and metal furniture. (see examples here https://wordpress.com/block-editor/page/tafuworks.wordpress.com/2 and https://www.etsy.com/listing/807078187)

    I've rented out my house for the summer and will be traveling with my self built van with my small, old, friendly dog around Catalonia, France and Italy. I am thinking of moving back to Catalonia, so will be scouting for places in the Girona area.

    I don't really need accommodation since I sleep and cook in my van, where I am very comfortable. I travel with a lot of tools with me so that I can help you with several skills: carpentry, electricity, plumbing, solar energy. If budget is tight and you just need help for a couple of days, I don't even need to be provided food; I'm just happy to meet good people along the way, learn new and interesting ways of doing things, and help out with what I can offer.

    I am the kind of person that prefers to throw imagination rather than money at problems, use materials creatively, wisely and efficiently, and like to meet like-minded people.

    I clean after myself, both in the house and in the job. I like to take care of tools and leave a clean work area, so that starting again the next day is not a chore and other people can find things where they were.

    I don't drink alcohol or do any drugs, although I do smoke cigarettes, but currently vaping more. However, I do so outdoors, away from children, where it doesn't bother anybody and have my own box ashtray.

    If you prefer that the dog is not around the house, that's not a problem. He's used to living in the van and I like to take him for long walks.

    I was also a Workaway host for a while (https://www.workaway.info/116761691771-en.html)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I can help with a lot of practical things involved in general building, carpentry, electricity, solar energy, generators and plumbing, although my passion is wood and building with ecological materials.

    I have in the past: worked in Silicon Valley (technical translation, and copy editing and proofreading, both in Spanish and English), been a DJ (old fashioned, with vinyl), lived in Sydney, Hong Kong, San Fransisco, and owned two self-built bars/restaurants where I now live, in Tarifa, Spain.

    I am also knowledgeable with computers, both PC and Mac.

    If you want to get a general idea of how I work, you can check this article for Instructables.com that I wrote when I refurbished my van: https://www.instructables.com/id/80s-Mercedes-Campervan-Conversion/

    I have also built and decorated my two appartments that I rent on Airbnb:
    https://www.airbnb.es/rooms/1550174
    https://www.airbnb.es/rooms/173094

    I now also have a simple web page for my carpentry work http://tafuworks.wordpress.com

    Unfortunately, I can't do heavy lifting or back bending work for extended periods due to a lower back problem, although I am otherwise strong to do most types of work.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Age

    54

  • Nationality

    Spain

  • What else ...

    I do smoke cigarretes but know enough not to smoke anywhere near anybody that doesn't smoke or in any place where it is not correct to do so. I'm also trying to smoke less and switch to vaping instead ;=). I don't take any drugs or drink alcohol.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Donald Trump

    • Special dietary requirements
      NO

Photos

Paella at Malpa's birthday
My workshop in Tarifa
Workawayer Philipp helping me at my home
My self-built van
Sharpening knives at canbenevives.org with Joan
Wood, aluminum and concrete table for Tarifa hostel
Doing... well... stuff
My dear dog Tafu

Feedback